Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very good! I used 3 pounds of chicken leg quarters because that was what I had on hand (we like dark meat) and I removed the skin before cooking. The recipe was very easy to follow and I will definately be adding this to my dinner rotation. Thanks Kim =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This came out really good. I put everything in the crock pot which made it really easy. I just added a little bit of olive oil to the bottom of the pot and then added my veggies, then I added a pack young chickens and drumsticks and the rest of my ingredients. I replaced the red wine with white because it's all I had, also added a can of tomato sauce and used basil and oregano diced tomatoes. Cooked 4 hours on high, one hour on low, added the flour and tomato juice mix in the last hour. My family was very pleased, will be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamachef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is just excellent. The flavor is fantastic -- I used all fresh garlic rather than the garlic salt, and I didn't have the Burgundy (although I bet that makes it fantastic) but it was utterly divine nonetheless. When you get raving compliments from an 11-year-old who is not related to you, you know it's good stuff. ;-) Thanks so much for sharing this. It's excellent and even though I just had it last week I'm craving it again already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this for a Holiday Party and it was a great success. The Burgundy gives this dish a sweet flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. But after making this a few times, I do suggest removing the skin before cooking because the meat starts to fall apart and the skin will float around and its hard to remove all the skin and trust me, it's not cute biting into a mouthful of "boiled" skin. The other suggestion is halfway through cooking, remove the bones. The meat will have fallen off the bones at this point anyway, and it takes time to fish them all out. Kim, amazing recipe. Thank you for sharing this gem with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is excellent! I cooked it as directed, but in hindsight, I should have followed some of the suggestions in the reviews. Specifically, I will remove the skin on at least 1/2 of the chicken peices OR I will brown them first to get rid of some of the excess fat they generate. I just found that leaving the skin on, when all was said and done, there was a good 1/4 inch of fat sitting on top of the dish. But otherwise, the flavors in this are simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This dish was VERY tasty!!! I did brown my chicken before I put it in the pot and my family loved the dish with angel hair pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very very good! My husband loves chicken cacciatore and orders it often when we go out to eat. He said this is the best he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
All and all not a bad recipe. I cooked it in the crock pot and will make it again for sure. I will add a bit more seasoning to it the next time. It was just a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! My family too. I used Merlot because it was all I had and increasd by 1/2 cup. Added 3 cans of stewed tomatoes, with the juice, instead of 2 because I added extra peppers and carrots. Went with the 6 cloves of garlic as someone had recommended and omitted the garlic salt. Threw in some basil, oregano and parsley. Left out flour. NEXT TIME, I will make double the broth and use only thighs or other dark meat for moisture. We served over rice. It was almost like a stew. The house smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bionxx
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Addition of parmigiano gives a finishing touch in the utmost degree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bionxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States