Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This dish was VERY tasty!!! I did brown my chicken before I put it in the pot and my family loved the dish with angel hair pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very very good! My husband loves chicken cacciatore and orders it often when we go out to eat. He said this is the best he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
All and all not a bad recipe. I cooked it in the crock pot and will make it again for sure. I will add a bit more seasoning to it the next time. It was just a bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! My family too. I used Merlot because it was all I had and increasd by 1/2 cup. Added 3 cans of stewed tomatoes, with the juice, instead of 2 because I added extra peppers and carrots. Went with the 6 cloves of garlic as someone had recommended and omitted the garlic salt. Threw in some basil, oregano and parsley. Left out flour. NEXT TIME, I will make double the broth and use only thighs or other dark meat for moisture. We served over rice. It was almost like a stew. The house smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bionxx
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Addition of parmigiano gives a finishing touch in the utmost degree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bionxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
wonderful!!! made with boneless chicken breasts, cut time in half!! very tasty and i added more garlic and mushrooms. was great with the burgundy wine sauce. served over egg noodles. big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good recipe. The picture is what made me want to try it. It looked like the meat was taken off the bone after cooking - I had never taken it off the bone or used boneless. I tried it this way and will be making it this way from now on. I made some minor changes by browning my chicken first in the same pan and used colored peppers. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
What a great dish! My husband and I both enjoyed it. Few changes/additions as per reviews and to suit our taste. Added more garlic than called for. Used two cans of diced tomatoes, one can of stewed tomatoes and one 8oz can of tomato sauce. Used Shiraz (because that's what I had opened). Left out the garlic salt but added basil, oregano, red pepper. Used all chicken thighs, and used green and Italian pepper, carrots and celery. Thickened with a little flour. Very gourmet. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was fantastic! I added sliced baby carrots and chopped celery to the recipe and it was so good! Thank you for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
If you are like me, you might sometimes take a pass on recipes with a few number of reviews, feeling that there is strength in numbers. This is the recipe that should make you change your mind! It is an easy cacciatore recipe that saves you the work and effort of browning the chicken and you don't lose an iota of flavor. I stayed closed to the recipe but added one red pepper as well as a package of sliced mushrooms. I am told that isn't traditional but something called hunter's stew should have mushrooms....very earthy ;-) I added six cloves of fresh garlic and omitted the garlic salt. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and they really added a depth of flavor. Because I added veggies, I also added a 14.5oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and the sauce simmered itself to a really thick state. I didn't have to add flour. Just threw the tomatoes in with their juices from the beginning. In fact, the leftovers will probably need another can of tomatoes to get some sauciness back. I did as the writer said and left the skin on the chicken which was a bit problematic as the chicken cooks until is falls off the bone so I had to chase out skin bits throughout the sauce. I used 2 breasts and a package of thighs. Next time, I will remove the skin. Excellent recipe... served over egg noodles. So good that I hid the leftovers in the back of the fridge where hubby might not find them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States