Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. Followed the directions almost exactly. Didn't do the flour thing and it didn't need it. Also I served it over Polenta instead of spaghetti. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wonderful, I browned the Chicken first, for some color, and used Port wine. Gabby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John R. Beach

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy....I made this in a dutch oven with a few changes 1) i used Pinot Noir instead of Burgundy for the wine 2) I used 6 cloves of crushed garlic and omitted the garlic salt 3) I added a 28 ounce can of crushed tomato and 4) i added 2 cans of mushrooms IT CAME OUT FANTASTIC....Thanks for the recipe, i will be making this again for sure but i will use all dark meat next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
It sure is easy, and it sure is delicious! Here are my substitutions: used sherry instead of red wine. DO NOT use the store bought kind, it's loaded with salt, use drinking sherry. Did not add garlic salt, but added about twice as much fresh garlic. Did not add flour, scooped out the chicken and cooked the sauce down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had to make some adjustments based on ingredients I had on hand. I dredged my chicken quarters (all dark meat) in flour/salt/pepper and browned it in olive oil before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. I didn't have green peppers, so substituted mushrooms in place of it. We don't drink, use or keep wine in the house, so I substituted with apple cider. The Cacciatore came out tasty and delicious! I've never attempted Chicken Cacciatore before, and because of how easy this recipe truly was, I'm sure I'll be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Best recipe I've made for chicken cacciatore and I've made alot. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I added the mushrooms and replaced one can with fire roasted. Next time I will use 2 cans as it added depth to the sauce. I also added six cloves of garlic instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I love when recipes such as this land in my proverbial lap (or recipe box in this case). I had everything at hand, save for a few minor replacements, and a reason to open a bottle of red for dinner. Like other reviewers, I modified this recipe for the slow cooker by using bone-in skinned chicken thighs, fresh end-of-summer tomatoes and herbs as well as a red bell pepper. The chicken was done within 3 hours on low, but the sauce wasn't. So I removed and deboned the chicken, reserving it to add after the sauce thickened a bit more. Leaving the lid ajar and the dial turned to high easily rid the sauce of excess moisture without the usage of the tomato juice slurry. This made for a fantastically marvelous dinner served over creamy cheesy polenta. Thank you, Kim Shepheard, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I threw everything in the crock pot (did not saute the onions/peppers), used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked on high for 4 hours. The only 'problem' was that the 6 thighs practically disintegrated and I could barely find enough chunks of chicken for the 3 of us. I'll definitely cook it less next time, but the flavor was fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Thank you Ms. Shepheard. I used this as a reference, as I used cherry tomatoes blended with the carrots and garlic) instead of diced. I have four plants, and they are coming on gangbusters. I added sauteed finely chopped carrots for extra body, and added more butter and added olive oil as well. Other than mine turned out a bit thin (i will correct that next time, it was deleicious. It reminded me of the Cacciatore I had while growing up in the Finger lakes of New York. I also used chicken legs, as I like dark meat in cacciatore. It is delicious on Pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This dish was delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States