Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this almost exactly as written except that I used bone-in chicken thighs instead of a whole bird and I added about 1/2 pound each of sliced zuccini and button mushrooms to the saute. I also used linguine in place of spaghetti. To me it tasted bland, like something was missing. Maybe the added veggies took away from the seasoning and I should have added more. Don't know. Maybe it's just me since everyone else loved it for the most part in their reviews. My mom had no comment either way but she never does so who knows with her. I'm adding an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce to the leftovers because this really made a huge amount and there is a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this dish but disagree with not at least browning chicken I browned chicken then removed and continued with recipe and then added chicken back after veggies were sauteed it was great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
used a pressure cooker. removed bones and added flour mixture. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I too made this in the slow cooker. It was ok, not great. I wouldn't make this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. Followed the directions almost exactly. Didn't do the flour thing and it didn't need it. Also I served it over Polenta instead of spaghetti. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wonderful, I browned the Chicken first, for some color, and used Port wine. Gabby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy....I made this in a dutch oven with a few changes 1) i used Pinot Noir instead of Burgundy for the wine 2) I used 6 cloves of crushed garlic and omitted the garlic salt 3) I added a 28 ounce can of crushed tomato and 4) i added 2 cans of mushrooms IT CAME OUT FANTASTIC....Thanks for the recipe, i will be making this again for sure but i will use all dark meat next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
It sure is easy, and it sure is delicious! Here are my substitutions: used sherry instead of red wine. DO NOT use the store bought kind, it's loaded with salt, use drinking sherry. Did not add garlic salt, but added about twice as much fresh garlic. Did not add flour, scooped out the chicken and cooked the sauce down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had to make some adjustments based on ingredients I had on hand. I dredged my chicken quarters (all dark meat) in flour/salt/pepper and browned it in olive oil before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. I didn't have green peppers, so substituted mushrooms in place of it. We don't drink, use or keep wine in the house, so I substituted with apple cider. The Cacciatore came out tasty and delicious! I've never attempted Chicken Cacciatore before, and because of how easy this recipe truly was, I'm sure I'll be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Best recipe I've made for chicken cacciatore and I've made alot. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I added the mushrooms and replaced one can with fire roasted. Next time I will use 2 cans as it added depth to the sauce. I also added six cloves of garlic instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States