Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Added it to our monthly menu! Included red peppers and mushrooms and lots of garlic and Italian spieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDasariMoodey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Sometimes cacciatore comes out to tomatoey tasting. Not this one. This was fantastic. I added a tsp of onion powder and a tsp of red pepper flakes to the spices. I did add more garlic- about 5 cloves. What can I say we like garlic. For the chicken I used 2 bone in, skin on half breasts. It was very very good. I also had to sub Zinfandel for the burgundy. This was a huge winner in our house. I didn't have to add the flour mixture as my sauce was super thick on its own. THANKS KIM FOR A LOVELY MEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I liked it, but the family wasn't that crazy about it. However, all agreed that it tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Wow this was amazing! My whole family loved it. I made this in the pressure cooker which infused the flavors and also speed it up enough that I could cook it last minute after work. I tweaked the recipe just a little, like I didn't have any peppers but it was SO good without I won't put them in ever. I used 1 can of regular diced tomatoes & 1 can roasted diced tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I didn't brown the chicken, and I took the skin off all the pieces except 3 for flavor. (then removed it with the bones) I added beef broth for the extra liquid to pressure cook. I also cooked up 3 slices of bacon, crumbled and added this plus 1 tbsp of the drippings to the recipe. I used egg noodles because again that is all I had. I didn't use any flour, I just added a can of tomato paste at the end. This is an amazing recipe and my family always asks me when I am going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Not so good. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I loved it, but i added 1 cup beef broth, 1 cup chicken broth, a red bell pepper, and a pkg of sliced mushrooms. it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I thought it was really good! I was only cooking for 3 people (2 of which were children) so I only made half the recipe. My kids didn't really like it since they are big fans of dices tomatoes. I think next time I might have to compromise and used tomato sauce so they won't sit there trying to pick the tomatoes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fabulous! My whole family loved this Chicken Cacciatore recipe! I will be adding this into the rotation. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delish! Took the skin off to save some calories and omitted the flour (I added both cans f tomatoes w/o reserving the liquid) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Loved the way the sauce came out. next time I will take the skin off the chicken since there was way too much fat. otherwise mmmmm. excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States