Homemade Chicken A La King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
A dish will lack flavor if you DO NOT put seasoning in it. The recipe is fine. Cooking is subjective. Everyone's kitchen pantry is different. Add seasonings and spices to YOUR liking! If you taste your food as you cook you will know if you need to add more seasoning or not. If you want garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, bay leaf or whatever you like...throw it in! Have fun cooking! You and your familiy are the ones eating it :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Definitely not my Grandma's Chicken A La King but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonflaherty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good recipe! I made this mostly as is, but left out a few things due to personal taste. First, I didn't use celery, because Mom never did when she made this, and I left out the peas since my hubby is allergic to them! I also left out the egg yolks because a lot of reviewers said the sauce was too thick, and without them it was perfect! The sherry is a requirement in this, and for those reveiwers that said it gave the dish a bad taste- they probably used the cooking sherry you buy at the grocery store! NEVER use the wines from the grocery store- only use what you what put in a glass! Yummy, comforting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Given the great reviews and the combination of ingredients, I thought we would love this. We didn't. I can't believe, given all of ingredients that it includes, how little taste this dish had. Not worth the effort, I am afraid. We won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Loved this! The only thing I did different was use fresh baby bella mushrooms and frozen peas. I also think that pearl onions would be nice in this. I also doubled it, so you will need a pretty large skillet. Great on a cold, rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I beg to differ with the reviewer who stated that this dish was gross. Hardly. As a matter of fact, it was very good. Changed things up just a tad. I used fresh mushrooms, red and green pepper, no peas (oldest daugher doesn't care for them) and once the vegies were tender, I then added the flour to make a roux. I used one cup of skim milk, one cup of fat free half and half and a half cup of chicken stock. I seasoned quite a bit more than suggested and added a little more sherry than stated. I bought a couple of tubes of Pillsbury Italian bread and made four bread bowls to hold and serve the chicken. kids and hubby got a kick out of it and devoured this dish. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
THIS WAS VERY GOOD. I HAVE NEVER HAD IT BEFORE BUT I WILL MAKE AGAIN. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Threw it out. Ate bread and butter for dinner. The sherry gave it a terrible taste. Let me add GROSS!!!!!!!!! and I made it as is and did not change it like other reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
For the sake of the dieters in my family, I used skimmed milk and replaced high-fat egg yolks with no-fat sour cream. Left out the sherry, too. Despite the subs, this had a really lovely, delicate flavor - big hit. Has already been requested for another go round, this time replacing the chicken with shrimp - sounds good! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very good but a little mild flavored. You might want to add a little pepper to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States