Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I didn't like these too much myself, but my family loved them, so I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
The only alterations I made were to use honey instead of corn syrup and chopped up peanuts instead of sunflower seeds. They came out really yummy and with the perfect texture. They were super easy and quick to make! The only thing is, I'm not sure if these are really that healthy since it's very rich....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
yum! these are just great! I didn't even add the chocolate chips to avoid extra calories! And they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I am about to enjoy this recipe! What I did different though is, instead of the seeds and raisins, I added 1/4c.Sliced Almonds and about a .1/4c. sliced Blackberries:) I only made one batch but my husband is on his way to get more butt and I will be making several variations to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These are really good!! Nice and chewy with lots of fruit. I used honey instead of corn syrup like others suggested. You can add whatever combination of nuts, fruit or chocolate that you like. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I liked these a lot. They are nice and hardy. I was pleased with how chewy they were, that was my most important want. I used the honey instead of corn syrup. Flax meal, sesame seeds and almonds. Added about a 1/4 cup choc chips, and also threw in some freeze dried rasberries that I had in food storage. I like them. My three year old didn't however which is who I was trying for. I am not sure if it was peanut butter, or if they needed a little less "substance" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I've made these several times, and it's nice to be able use whatever I have in the cabinet. I've added nuts, different flavored chips, flax seeds, etc. I've also use 2 cups oats, and 1 cup steel cut oats and instead of 1/2 cup corn syrup, I use 3/4 cup agave syrup, and am able decrease the butter by a couple of tablespoons. THANKS- great recipe- my kids love granola bars, glad to make these healthier, much more affordable ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellebelle
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
very simple & delicious granola bars! they are easy to tailor to your taste buds. you can pretty much add whatever fruit, nuts, spices, etc to the recipe that you'd like. i added flax seeds, toasted sunflower seeds, raisins & mini chocolate chips. next time i might omit a portion of the brown sugar, as these are pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Absolutely amazing! Ive made these bars twice with perfect results. After reading comments, I made the following changes: substitute honey for corn syrup, nuts (almonds are yummy) for sunflower kernels, add 1/4 cup craisins, leave out the wheat germ and sesame seeds, add 1/8 cup quick oats. Perfect for playgroup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
they did fall apart but were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Diaz
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States