Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These were really good, but not at all what I was expecting. To me 'granola' sounds healthy and this was anything but. We just enjoyed it for what it was: a yummy peanut butter and oatmeal bar. I made these for a car trip (substituting mini M&Ms for the chocolate chips to save on mess) and they held up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I am always sharing this recipe. It is one of my very favorites of any kind! I use molasses instead of corn syrup and I make liberal substitutions so long as the ratio is the same such as bran instead of wheat germ, etc. Pressing it down into the pan is important for it to hold together. Also if you leave it in for the shorter amount of time rather than the longer, it will be more chewy instead of crunchy which makes it that much more awesome. Say if you leave it for 12 minutes instead of 20, it might look like it would never stick together but as it cools down, the molasses firms it up to. Never had it fail. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I love these bars! I have been making them to put into my husband's lunch for several months now and he's a huge fan. The addition of the corn syrup makes them just the right consistency. I have gotten creative about substituting different dried fruits for the raisins, I often use flax seed instead of sunflower seeds and skip the wheat germ if I don't have it on hand. They are still great. I make this so often I've started putting the portions into greased muffin tins. This way there is no messy cutting; I just pop them out and wrap individually for lunches. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steamincuppaliz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is my "go to " recipe when I want granola bars. I use this as the base recipe and add whatever I have on hand, like coconut, peanuts, dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds, or ground flax seeds instead of wheat germ, etc. I have also used old-fashioned oats rather than the quick oats. I usually add more peanut butter since our family loves peanut butter. I just use less butter instead. This is also a good recipe for "raw foodists" who want a sticky granola snack.. just add your own dried fruit and homemade peanut butter and leave out the cooked ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Per the other recs, used: 1) little less brown sugar (more than 1/3 c. but less than 1/2 c.) 2) Unsalted almond butter in place of peanut butter 3) honey in place of corn syrup 4) unsweetened applesauce in place of the butter For the add-ins: 1) 1/4 c. ground flax seed in place of the wheat germ and sesame seeds 2) heaping 1/2 c. chopped, dried dates 3) 1/2 c. pistachios Cooked it for 20 minutes and it's cooling now. Smells good. Will let it cool overnight since other reviewers stressed that it was best to cool completely before cutting. Can't wait to try! I also bought dried strawberries, dried figs, dried blueberries, almonds, and walnuts to experiment with other variations. Would have included the chocolate chips but am making the granola bars for a trip to a hot place, so do not want them to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Awesome flavor and easy to make healthier if you so choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwelch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Will be using this now instead of buying granola bars. Thanks for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe! Since I have a lot of raw honey on hand, I too, substitute honey for corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
my kids loved them, but I did make some healthier changes. Honey, instead of corn syrup, and added pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, and nuts. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is quick and easy to make. I'm dairy and soy free due to allergies so I've made this recipe 4 times so far for a quick snack to throw in my purse as I'm heading out the door. Easy to substitue any add-ins you like. I use cranberries, honey roasted peanuts, and walnuts. I've substitued honey for corn syrup as other reviews suggested and make a double batch then freeze the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Love these! I also added ground flaxseed, a 1/4cup coconut and used chopped dried apricot. I think you could add just about anything to these! Next time will try to replace the corn syrup with honey. Had to bake for 20 min, next time will try 25 for a little more browning. They held together really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States