Homemade Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This stuff is great! I left out the wheat bran and it was still fine. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This has been one of my favorite recipes from this site! I make this all the time for my family and as gifts for friends. Everyone I've given it to has beeged for the recipe. My boys put it on yogurt or applesauce, and I just love it in a bowl with milk for breakfast. When making it I include the optional cinnamon and nutmeg, but I also include ½ - 1 cup of flax seeds. I sometimes splurge on the vanilla too and add up to 2 tablespoons. As for the nuts I have found that I like chopped hazelnuts and almonds. I cook the nuts throughout the entire baking cycle to give them a nice toasted taste. Then I just add the dates for the last 15 minutes and skip the coconut. Super easy! Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is far better than store bought cereal. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it but the second time I used less oats but threw in a handful of wheat chex, bran flakes, corn flakes, dried sweetened cranberries, and combined sliced almonds with the pecans. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
this is my breakfast, every morning with soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a wonderful, nutritious and tasty cereal. For my youngest's food allergies, I substituted oat bran for wheat bran, ground up sunflower seeds for the wheat germ (an odd-sounding substitution, but it worked), and about 1/4 cup barley malt instead of brown sugar (I decreased the water a bit to make up for the liquid). This goes great with rice, oat or almond milk--and if you use just enough milk to cover the cereal and microwave it for about 60 seconds, it makes a wonderful hot cereal (really brings out the pecan flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a really great recipe. My family has eaten this every day for breakfast for the last two months!!! My kids love it. I changed the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and toast my coconuts and almond slices separte. Everyone builds their own bowl of cereal just the way they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is our favorite granola! The only change I made is to bake it for 1 1/2 hours, stirring once after the first 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We LOVED this cereal. It is so yummy!!! I added some crasins, sunflower seeds, and walnuts to it and they are a nice touch. We will be making this recipe a lot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Tamar Shen-Orr
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
i changed the dried fruit to raisins and dried cranberrys. it came out great. i'm making this my #1 granola recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This cereal is so good! I've made it several times. I use raisins and only 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg because 1 teaspoon seems overpowering. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States