Homemade Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I love this recipe. I used the spices, and substituted whole almonds for the pecans because of my personal taste. I don't care for coconut, so I left it out and the salt because I have to eat salt free. I also coated the almonds in a tablespoon of honey before adding. It is a great cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Yummy, yummy cereal that stays crunchy in milk. I halved the recipe and did some substitutions due to lack of ingredients: I cut out the germ, dates, and coconut, and I added 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 cup bran cereal (looks like twigs), and 1/2 cup of sliced almonds. This cereal is barely sweet, so I added some raisins to my bowl when I served it. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This cereal was great. I think I will make it and give it away as a gift. I used almonds, no dates, and oat bran instead of wheat bran. The taste was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is delicious served over yogurt for breakfast! I substitued the dates for dried cranberries and added a little extra nuts. This recipe makes a lot so make sure you use a large baking pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
It has a good flavor, but I was looking for something that could serve as a finger snack, and this won't. I substituted almonds and left out the coconut, just because i can't get almonds where i'm at and i don't like coconut. I have been eating it for breakfast, though, and I do like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is far better than store bought cereal. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it but the second time I used less oats but threw in a handful of wheat chex, bran flakes, corn flakes, dried sweetened cranberries, and combined sliced almonds with the pecans. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
this is my breakfast, every morning with soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a wonderful, nutritious and tasty cereal. For my youngest's food allergies, I substituted oat bran for wheat bran, ground up sunflower seeds for the wheat germ (an odd-sounding substitution, but it worked), and about 1/4 cup barley malt instead of brown sugar (I decreased the water a bit to make up for the liquid). This goes great with rice, oat or almond milk--and if you use just enough milk to cover the cereal and microwave it for about 60 seconds, it makes a wonderful hot cereal (really brings out the pecan flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a really great recipe. My family has eaten this every day for breakfast for the last two months!!! My kids love it. I changed the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and toast my coconuts and almond slices separte. Everyone builds their own bowl of cereal just the way they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is our favorite granola! The only change I made is to bake it for 1 1/2 hours, stirring once after the first 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States