Homemade Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Granola is so expensive at the store that I thought I'd try making some myself. I added the listed spices, left out the nuts and coconut, and substituted raisins instead of dates. Overall, this was an alright granola, but not nearly as good as store-bought. Just my oppinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is absolutely delicious. If I could give it more stars, I would! I always bump up the vanilla, cinnamon, & nutmeg a bit, and leave out the coconut. The last time I made it, I added bran flake cereal to it, and I am super-satisfied with the results. Here are the measurements I used: 3.5 cups oats, 3.5 cups bran flake cereal, .75 cup wheat germ, & .75 cup wheat bran.....everything else the same. Thanks for sharing this gem of a recipe, Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
this is good but my family did not really care for the flavor, they like another ganola recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is a good start. The texture is a little chewy for my taste, but the flavor is really good. I used walnuts and cherries instead of the other nuts and dates. I also added some ground flax meal for an omega-6 boost. I will definitely be making this often, and plan to experiment with different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I used raisins, walnuts, and sliced almonds instead of the dates and pecans. Followed the recipe step by step other than that. I would recommend using at least 3 large jelly roll pans to spread the cereal out on. I put mine on 1, and it didn't evenly brown (the cereal along the edge browned faster than that in the middle). Also, I wish there was some way to make this "clumpier." I like the crunchy clusters you get sometimes in cereal and granola-- this was all one consistency. Perhaps more honey next time? We really love this, though, and will make again. It lasts a very long time because it makes a big load of cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Makes a tasty breakfast. I used dried cranberries and almonds instead of dates and pecans. Also reduced the sugar by 1/3 because it was plenty sweet with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is really good. Probably will replace dates with crasins (the dates were a bit difficult to find and work with), but other than that, it's delicious. I tend to eat it as oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe is excellent. It is a very nutritional breakfast cereal without all of the sugar. Very filling and my 2 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I add dried blueberries and walnuts. I also followed the other reviewer and subbed applesauce for the oil. It has come out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is very tasty as well as simple to make. I made it as described and will halve the nutmeg next time as it seemed to somewhat overtake the other flavors. Great nutrition -- and it's nice to skip the preservatives and fillers of commercial cereal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States