Homemade Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Granola is so expensive at the store that I thought I'd try making some myself. I added the listed spices, left out the nuts and coconut, and substituted raisins instead of dates. Overall, this was an alright granola, but not nearly as good as store-bought. Just my oppinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is absolutely delicious. If I could give it more stars, I would! I always bump up the vanilla, cinnamon, & nutmeg a bit, and leave out the coconut. The last time I made it, I added bran flake cereal to it, and I am super-satisfied with the results. Here are the measurements I used: 3.5 cups oats, 3.5 cups bran flake cereal, .75 cup wheat germ, & .75 cup wheat bran.....everything else the same. Thanks for sharing this gem of a recipe, Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
this is good but my family did not really care for the flavor, they like another ganola recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is a good start. The texture is a little chewy for my taste, but the flavor is really good. I used walnuts and cherries instead of the other nuts and dates. I also added some ground flax meal for an omega-6 boost. I will definitely be making this often, and plan to experiment with different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I used raisins, walnuts, and sliced almonds instead of the dates and pecans. Followed the recipe step by step other than that. I would recommend using at least 3 large jelly roll pans to spread the cereal out on. I put mine on 1, and it didn't evenly brown (the cereal along the edge browned faster than that in the middle). Also, I wish there was some way to make this "clumpier." I like the crunchy clusters you get sometimes in cereal and granola-- this was all one consistency. Perhaps more honey next time? We really love this, though, and will make again. It lasts a very long time because it makes a big load of cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Makes a tasty breakfast. I used dried cranberries and almonds instead of dates and pecans. Also reduced the sugar by 1/3 because it was plenty sweet with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is really good. Probably will replace dates with crasins (the dates were a bit difficult to find and work with), but other than that, it's delicious. I tend to eat it as oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe is excellent. It is a very nutritional breakfast cereal without all of the sugar. Very filling and my 2 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Great recipe! I add dried blueberries and walnuts. I also followed the other reviewer and subbed applesauce for the oil. It has come out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is very tasty as well as simple to make. I made it as described and will halve the nutmeg next time as it seemed to somewhat overtake the other flavors. Great nutrition -- and it's nice to skip the preservatives and fillers of commercial cereal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States