Homemade Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I love that I can have homemade cereal without corn syrup. Instead of chopped pecans and dates I used chopped Craisins and toasted chopped cashews. I also omitted the spices and coconut. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Will definately make this again! Simple recipe to follow. I added an assortment of walnut 1/2s, raw almonds, coconut and dried cranberries. Served with plain greek yogurt with honey. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
great recipe! I didn't have bran so I just omitted it. I had to eyeball most of the ingredients as I did not have enough of everything. I used dried cranberries instead of dates. I also added rice crispies cereal with the other ingredients in the last 15 mins of baking. Oh, and I also used agave nectar instead of honey. So healthy and delicious. Even the kids loved it! Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was awesome! Fun to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This cereal is so good. I add 3/4 c. brown sugar and for the last fifteen minutes, I stir in 4 cups of various fruits and nuts. My family goes crazy over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I did everything as written, except used Craisins instead of dates. It was pretty good! Crunchy and mildly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a very easy and tasty homemade cereal to make. This is a great (and cheaper) alternative to today's commercial cereals that are processed and loaded with bad sugar. I have made this 5 times and all turned out great, using slightly different mixings dried fruits and nuts. You may also want to half the nutmeg so it’s not overpowering. To be totally organic (if that's a worry), then you may want to buy your own coconut and shred it (if used) and also buy a natural brown sugar (like muscavado). And if using some kind of blend of dried fruit, buy some that not artificially "sweetened". I estimated the cost to make this was $0.23 per serving (even using all natural ingredients as above). Furthermore, I estimated on a 2,500 calorie diet, if this was all you ate (not recommended), it would cost $1.84 per day to live off of (and buying a generic version of Oats)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Wow. This is really good. I used slivered almonds and it came out really delicious. I only used 6 cups of oats though and left the other amounts the same. I am wondering if you can get good results if you cut the oil back to 1/4 cup. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Before I made this, I wish I had read deeper into the reviews to discover that this doesn't clump at all. The only thing I changed was to substitute applesauce for oil to cut down on fat. It didn't stay as crunchy as I had hoped in milk, either. Other than the fact that this is a healthy choice, I was disappointed and won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome recipe -we have been giving this to our son since he stopped having "baby cereal". Its great hot or cold, with yogurt, or just as a snack. I've put currants, cranberries, blueberries, and raisins in it - its a great recipe to modify. However, I always use my coffee grinder to grind up pecans, almonds, and banana chips into the cereal. I've mixed up bunches to give to folks as presents and they RAVE about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States