Homemade Buttermilk Pancake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My kids don't get breakfast at Breakfast, they are off to work way too early! I have always loved making it for them for dinner even when they were in school. So I did it for them again and dug through the pantry. While I was gathering P-cake ingreds. I found the pumpkin puree and Knew I had sliced peaches in the freezer! TA DA!! I added some pumpkin spice & sugar along with a can each of evaporated milk and water. These were to DIE FOR!!! Please forgive me Tamara for the 4 stars, I belong to Tweakers R US!! LOL Plus I saw your variations and went crazy;) Your recipe is a solid 10 stars! Thank you for a twist on an old favorite dinner time tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is so good. I didn't have wheat germ so I substituted 1/2c flaxseed meal and 1/2c King Arthurs high fiber flour blend. I also used 1/2c coconut flour for 1/2 c wheat flour because I had it. I did add 1/4c coconut sugar and 1/4c egg white powder. I didn't taste the coconut nor was it sweet. The flaxseed gave it a nutty flavor. You didn't need butter either. The taste alone was very satisfying. I used 1 1/2c mixture, 2T oïl and water to pancake consistency. Thank you Tamara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efendi0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe! They are so quick and delicious. The amount is perfect for a school morning and so healthy. I never use any other pancake mix now! I only added a couple Tbsp of sugar to the mix, but everything else is perfection. Also great with add-ins... sweet potato puree, or pumpkin or applesauce and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Love this!! I no longer buy ready to use pancake batter.... I make this and store every time. I will alter sometimes by adding a little wheat germ or ground flax, in place of the flour. About a half cup total. Never have had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Brigitte, read the cook's notes in the footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
So, I am a bit of an idiot :) Apparently I wasn't on the full site, I was still in the mobile site. FYI for anyone else, there are no footnotes on the mobile site, nor the app. You have to get onto the full site to find cooks notes. And for anyone else wondering: 1 1/2c mix, 1c water and one egg, don't overmix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
these are delicious! reminded me of my beloved bisquick cakes that we don't eat any more because of the aluminum in it. thank you so much! liked it so much I make extra so I could give it to my adult kids for Christmas gifts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and made the whole shebang in one morning. I had to use actual oats that I pulsed in the food processor until they were the consistancy of oat flour. I made these into cinnamon cakes by adding a couple heaping teaspoons of cinnamon. These were thick, fluffy and delicious. I served them with butter and homemade Absolute Best Pancake Syrup. The whole family loved them. A half batch was enough for one large breakfast for four plus enough for a couple to have a couple warmed for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Exceptional, and very convenient...thank you. I add a teaspoon, or so, of vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States