Homemade Buttercrunch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I used Splenda and it did not work out at all. With real sugar, its a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was easy to make and it tastes great. I used semi-sweet chips because it is what I have and it turned out very tasty. We might think I've wrecked the recipe if I go to milk chocolate next time. I've made this again to have on the munchie table for Christmas dinner so it has to be good. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
substitue brown sugar for a more caramel taste. I used butter and wouldn't even think of using margarine. is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Cheap and easy to make. Great for gift giving. I did change the temperature to 290 degree f because when I cooked it to 270 is was not brittle enough and was a bit chewy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If you like the rich taste of toffee and chocolate, you'll love this. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of margarine and I cooked it to 290-300 degrees instead of 270 degrees. I roasted my own almonds because I like a deeper flavor. If you have a candy thermometer this is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Well Julie, this is an absolutely fabulous recipe. We love it. I made a batch to add to some gift baskets I am making for Christmas gifts. I am going to make more tomorrow it is so good. I followed your recipe exactly except I cooked it until it reached 175 degrees only because I was doing two things at once and was not watching closely. The candy turned out perfect. What an easy recipe.Thanks for sharing Julie. Julie have you ever tried to double the recipe? Some things can sucessfully be doubled and some not. Please let me know it would save me some time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
love this recipe, used butter instead of margarine, boiled to 300 degrees & used peanuts instead of almonds. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This candy is great! It tastes just as good or even better than an expensive one my mother-in-law buys and sends us each year. I don't have a candy thermometer so I cooked it until it turned a light brown color and it was perfect. I THINLY spread the toffee layer on a cookie sheet cause I like a thin toffee layer and lots of chocolate. I used walnuts instead of almonds because that's what we like. I will be making this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe is in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and it has always been a successful one for me! I used butter, though - margarine is a bad idea for this recipe - it won't set up correctly and it will taste weird. I've made many diifferent batches of almond buttercrunch candy and this is the one I've had the best success with. It was perfect and delicious (btw, I did cook it to 300 and it came out the perfect consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is deliciously addictive (if made with butter). And as some other reviewers noted, it needs to be heated to at least 290 degrees. I found that at 270 it doesn't get crisp enough to break into pieces - still a bit gooey. With these changes, it deserves at least 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States