Homemade Buttercrunch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was easy to make and it tastes great. I used semi-sweet chips because it is what I have and it turned out very tasty. We might think I've wrecked the recipe if I go to milk chocolate next time. I've made this again to have on the munchie table for Christmas dinner so it has to be good. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
substitue brown sugar for a more caramel taste. I used butter and wouldn't even think of using margarine. is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I used Splenda and it did not work out at all. With real sugar, its a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Well Julie, this is an absolutely fabulous recipe. We love it. I made a batch to add to some gift baskets I am making for Christmas gifts. I am going to make more tomorrow it is so good. I followed your recipe exactly except I cooked it until it reached 175 degrees only because I was doing two things at once and was not watching closely. The candy turned out perfect. What an easy recipe.Thanks for sharing Julie. Julie have you ever tried to double the recipe? Some things can sucessfully be doubled and some not. Please let me know it would save me some time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Cheap and easy to make. Great for gift giving. I did change the temperature to 290 degree f because when I cooked it to 270 is was not brittle enough and was a bit chewy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I don't know if I am oversensitive to after tastes in vegetable oil products, or what...but this candy has a rancid slightly fishy taste to me from the margarine. I pick up this same taste in canola oil too. Is it just me? I am wondering if this candy can be made with real butter instead. I wanted to send this to some soldiers in Iraq...but I can't now. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This candy is great! It tastes just as good or even better than an expensive one my mother-in-law buys and sends us each year. I don't have a candy thermometer so I cooked it until it turned a light brown color and it was perfect. I THINLY spread the toffee layer on a cookie sheet cause I like a thin toffee layer and lots of chocolate. I used walnuts instead of almonds because that's what we like. I will be making this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If you like the rich taste of toffee and chocolate, you'll love this. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of margarine and I cooked it to 290-300 degrees instead of 270 degrees. I roasted my own almonds because I like a deeper flavor. If you have a candy thermometer this is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe is in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and it has always been a successful one for me! I used butter, though - margarine is a bad idea for this recipe - it won't set up correctly and it will taste weird. I've made many diifferent batches of almond buttercrunch candy and this is the one I've had the best success with. It was perfect and delicious (btw, I did cook it to 300 and it came out the perfect consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Beware! This recipe uses twice the fat (margarine in this case) as other recipes for butter crunch. This ratio of sugar:fat was a disaster for me. Wish I'd verified with other recipes first. The other recipes in books and online use butter and only 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States