Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Bring the cream to room temperature!! I leave my on the counter up to 12 hours, the longer the better in fact...something about the reactions going on will make the butter better and will also make butter WAY quick (like 4 mins of shaking). Add a little salt before shaking. Drain the buttermilk off (use it for pancakes or biscuits), add cold water to the jar and shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Will do again! It was so good have real natural butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I love making butter this way and so do my kids. We add a pinch of salt to the cream before shaking it up. :-) It's so fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbyzu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I did this for some pre-schoolers I was watching during "farm week." They got kick out of it! We put the heavy cream in jars with marbles, which makes it much faster, and sealed it tight. I made sure they had something good to put it on. I had warm barnana bread, just baked, and they each spread their own slice with butter and loved it! However, if you are not doing this with kids a kitchen aid mixer will be much faster. The cream will go from the whipped cream to butter stage in a matter of minutes. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is so much fun to do with the kids in a classroom. All the kids can have a turn shaking the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Perfection! I lazied out and used the KA mixer and it turned out well. Most fun I have ever had with a pint of heavy creme=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
No great mystery here. When I was a farm kid in the 1930's - 40's, the butter churn was a standard utensil in the kitchen. It was a square tub, about three gallons, with a lid and a crank on top, from which a shaft with paddles went down into the left-over cream. We had six cows. A youngster could produce, in about 10 minutes, enough butter to last for several days, and some buttermilk to drink. Most of that went to the pigs. Later, when most of the older kids were gone, we just shook some cream in a quart jar until it "buttered". No big deal. Now: BIG DEAL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I think the recipe should have mentioned that after you make the butter, you need to "wash" it to remove all of the butter milk, or it will spoil. My mom taught me to wash butter by draining off the milk liquids, then running COLD water into the jar and pressing the butter with the back of a spoon to release pockets of butter milk trapped inside of the butter. It takes several washings to get it completely clean. If you are eating all of the butter within a short amount of time, washing is not so crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fun, fun, fun! So many times I've not purchased cream because there would be so much leftover. (We drink our coffee black). But NOW I have something great to do, and since the nearer to expiration date it gets, the more readily it can be shaken into butter (with that fabulous bit of REAL buttermilk as a side benefit), I'm one happy lil' ol' milk maid. And the MAN is thrilled (or should be), too, since I made biscuits by supplementing the buttermilk with some yogurt for the full amount needed, and then we topped the biscuits with this yummy butter!!!! Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I used a 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream in a pint jar. Shake time was only 8 minutes. I also kneaded the butter blob with a pinch of sea salt on a tilted dinner plate to remove additional butter milk. Yielded a little less than a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States