Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
10 Stars from me my butter Came out so creamy and good I will never buy butter or buttermilk again.Thanks a lot, Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This tastes really creamy and delicious, and it's fun for kids to make! I love it on plain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I remember making this as a kid in my second grade class. It is so fun for kids. I remember adding salt like some of the others have said. Also, since it is so hard to shake it that long, here are some tips: If you are using a plastic container, add a marble or two and the process will be a lot faster. If you are using a glass container you can use a marble if you are really careful, but it can break the glass. I have used about 5 clean paperclips instead and it works well in a glass container. Just remember to fish out the marble/paperclips when you have your butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Wow! I can't believe this worked! It was so easy, well, my arms are pretty tired, but relatively easy anyway. And, it tastes so good. I thought it wasn't working and was getting discouraged, but I checked it, and there was butter! Thank you so much for this simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I have used the jar method before, but I find that if you pour the cream in a deep bowl, you can use your mixer to beat. I would start out on slow and increase as it thickens. When it goes to whipped cream, I take some out for toppings. When it starts turns into buttermilk, I save it to use on pancakes. Then keep beating until it turns to butter draining all the liquid. Make sure you start out slowly or else it will splash all over. This way is a lot easier and less tiring. Thanks for posting this DD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I went the lazy route here, and used my Kitchen Aid mixer. The butter tastes great! Also try adding Strawberry Preserves, or Cinnamon & Sugar. They make a yummy butter, and go great over toast or bisquits. For those of you who have never made homemade butter, it takes some time. You will first get whipping cream, and then the cream will start to form chunks. Beat until the butter forms one large chunk, and the butter turns a light yellow. There will be leftover buttermilk, which you can save for later use. IMPORTANT** After draining excess buttermilk off of the butter, rinse the butter in cold water. Get as much of the excess buttermilk off as you can. If you don't do this, the butter will spoil in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMES_MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was an absolute hit at Easter. I had "heavy whipping cream" left over from another recipe, and it worked great. I poured the cream into a bowl and beat the living daylights out of it with a hand blender. I strained it about twice, and then blotted it with paper towels before the final 'beating'. I added a little salt at the end. It wasn't quite as yellow as I imagined, and it looked more like whipped cream cheese. The flavor and texture were the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hickory, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I can't believe how easy this was. I also went the kitchen aid route and had butter in no time. I think I 'll stick to this and stop buying all the mono-unsaturated concotions out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I used a 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream in a pint jar. Shake time was only 8 minutes. I also kneaded the butter blob with a pinch of sea salt on a tilted dinner plate to remove additional butter milk. Yielded a little less than a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States