Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
This recipe is so fun, I homeschool my daughter and have a home-based daycare and it was much fun and educational for the kids to learn about "churning" our own butter, We also made the homemade corn tortillas and had the yummy butter on them Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
This was very good but it took me like 30 minutes to make. Kids did a lot of shaking but they may not have been doing it hard enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Great to add food colouring to cream - makes nicely coloured for parties etc. Also great to add dried herbs to whipping cream - favourites include dill, mint or cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I'm actually amazed that this worked. I shook it for about 20 minutes, while my husband just stared at me as if I were strange ;) It tasted just like unsalted butter, now I know where to turn if I'm ever in a bind! Thanks DD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I've been making this since I was a kid. If you drop something solid into the container like a clothespin, the solids stick to it and it reduce the shaking time. I sometimes add different spices or fruits like applesauce for over french toast or put it in butter moulds to make it fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
The grandkids fought over whose turn it was to shake. They loved "helping". Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was a fun project for my three and five year old. We were all amazed at how easy the process of making butter is. It tasted just like real butter, too! Will definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Who would have thought making butter would be so easy! People were very easily impressed that I had made this and it took only one ingredient and a lot of elbow grease. It has a much lighter more pleasant flavor. A definite do-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was surprisingly easy. I added a dash of salt. This actually turned yellow, which I thought was cool. Any time I have heavy cream to use up I would definitely do this again. Oh, and to make things really simple, just shake the cream in the unopened container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
this did not turn out like butter at all. all i ended up with was whipped cream. since there are so many good reviews, this maybe my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States