Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
These are great! Would have gotten five stars but I had a little trouble getting them to hold together. I made them exactly as recipe stated. I was missing a good black bean burger since moving away from South Carolina. These really hit the spot. I will be making again before I decide to make any alterations to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, except used 2 cans of black beans and made 6 large patties. Came out perfect. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I loved this recipe. I put the veggie's in the food processor and then drained them well through a mesh strainer. I also drained the beans really well. Other than that I did as the recipe said, and they were wonderful. I have made them several times and they are always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe does need alterations to create a good burger. I patted the beans dry, as well as not putting the veggies in a food processor (mincing makes a better texture to the burger in my opinion). Absolutely double the breadcrumbs, or substitue quinoa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I made as directed, although I added Serrano chilies and they were FANTASTIC! I grilled them, they held together with no problem, they looked even better with the grill marks from the grill! I highly recommend this recipe!!!! YUM!,,, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe is a great for inspiration, but needs a little coaxing to make them come out great. I used the full amount of bread crumbs (I used panko) because that's what I had in hand. I also added a little oats for an extra binder like some of the reviews said. I only used one egg becuae the extra oats helped hold them together perfectly. When I processed the onions, bellpepper, and garlic I added a few sliced jalapeños for an extra kick. It came out just a tad of the spicy side because I also used tobasco sauce. Next time I make them I will use a different hot sauce, most likely siracha, and add fewer jalapeños. Make sure to dry the beans on a paper towel until all of the moisture is gone, and they are completely dry. When I was finished processing the veg I put them in a fine mesh strainer and shook them until a lot of the liquid was out. Put a paper towel below and you will see how much liquid comes out! It takes a little longer, but is well worth the wait. I also added a pitch of garlic powder, parsley, and salt and pepper to taste! The cumin flavor is a little strong so maybe 3/4 of a tablespoon will work better next time. These are definitely better than store bought frozen veggie burgers, and are very inexpensive! I will make these again and make a bigger batch to freeze for a quick, healthy, and easy meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChuckG73
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used ground spicy black bean chips instead of bread crumbs. Loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. They turned out perfect. I will say I dried my beans before mashing. I did add corn to mine instead of onion and green pepper. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My daughter made this for lunch today. Very good. I like that it's a bit less dry than my rice and bean burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Tasted incredible! I did, however, have to add more breadcrumbs than suggested to get the proper texture. I cooked these on the griddle and they held together wonderfully. I topped with a chipotle mayo (mayo and adobo chili sauce), lettuce, and onion. Best black bean burgers I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demree Seymour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,032) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States