Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Mine ended up crispy on the outside and really mushy on the inside. There is too much cumin, and I found the "1/2 onion" instruction to be too vague; I would rather a unit of measurement, such as "cups".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is a great burger! I had no trouble keeping the patties together. I dried the onion/pepper mixture as much as possible like another reviewer said. I did not measure the breadcrumbs and just added them until I got a consistency that would hold together. I also added a jalapeno because the sriracha was just not making it hot enough for me. I usually make 8 patties at a time and freeze them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! Husband can't get enough of them. My food processor purees my veggies into liquid though so I usually have to add extra black beans/bread crumbs or just chop the veggies by hand. Guess I just need to invest in a better food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Great recipe. I hadn't had a black bean burger in ages - used to visit this place in Seattle during my university years and have black bean burgers !! They were the best. This recipe reminds me of those burgers. I also used oats instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
super easy to make and super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I followed the suggestion to strain the onion-green pepper mixture and I rinsed the beans...the flavor of the burgers was great & they held together pretty good, but they have a weird texture. After cooking them according to directions, the outside edge of the burgers was dry...the middle was better. I don't think not straining the vegs would help much bc the already delicate texture if the patty would be downright falling apart. I thought they were just ok...my friend who eats veg & black bean burgers regularly liked them more than I did, but still found them a little dry. Overall, just ok and I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. It didn't have much flavor. The consistency was good. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
These were wonderful. I will make them again and again. Will also definitely be making a big batch and freezing for a quick easy meal. The only thing I would do differently next time is add more bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I thought the onion was overpowering, and it lacked depth in flavor. Maybe salt and pepper, and less cumin would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
OH. MY. GOODNESS. GRACIOUS. these are delicious! I got about 8 good sized patties out of this recipe. I didn't have chili powder so I used cayenne pepper instead, and I don't mind because I love a little extra heat. I rinsed and dried the beans before mashing and doubled the bread crumbs as recommendations suggested. I froze the remaining burgers and I can't wait to grill them up later on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States