Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
My husband and I loved this recipe so much that we are planning to make a double batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
These are so wonderful, I don't even want to eat homemade burgers! Like most of the other reviewers suggested, I also doubled the amount of bread crumbs. With doing so, I've never had a problem with them falling apart. I tried making them strictly by hand and utilizing a food processor. You will save an incredible amount of time and frustration using a food processor. Give them a try! I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
The best ever. Mine did not fall apart,I just drained the beans...Processed 1/2 poblano pepper, 1/2 red onion, garlic and a small zucchini in food processor and added to the beans. Followed the recipe otherwise and it was perfect on english muffin with tomato and lettuce and tahini,yogurt, hot sauce topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I made the burger as written and it was awesome! Maybe some people didn't rinse their beans well enough....who knows. My husband and I love this recipe. P.s. He usually hates veggie burgers but keeps requesting this once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Basic patty recipe. Did it with chick peas and half the onion and the peppers. No chilli no hot sauce. Made into little sausages. Perfect snack for toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
The flavour is amazing, even my carnivore husband loved them. Will definitely make them again. This recipe makes a very moist mixture that is best baked in the oven (can't imagine trying to cook these on a grill). Next time, I will let the mixture sit overnight in the fridge to firm up. Like the other reviewers have said, this recipe is a base for many other variations. Double the batch so you can freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Enjoyed thoroughly by the whole family (no buns or topping necessary!) The burgers have a great texture and mean kick. I fried them gently in olive oil just so they'd be done faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaim Leichman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I love these burgers! They are so filling! I added some chopped jalapeños to the mix, and it was a little spicy for my 8 year old so I won't do that again. Hubby is not much of a faux burger fan, but he gave them a 3 out of 5. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
this was my first attempt at a veggie burger and these came together, and stayed together perfectly. I doubled the recipe to freeze some for later and from other recommendations, did chill for an hour before shaping and used parchment when baking. I changed some of the flavors since I prefer herbs to spices and ground oats with the immersion blender for flour. it's a lovely base recipe, will definitely use again. Nice to see a big bowl of beans and veg for a burger instead of the store bought variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
First time I made it I'd rate it a 3. I prepared it with ingredients as written except I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs because that's what I had on hand. I mashed the beans by using my Bosch mixer with wire whips and continued using the mixer to stir in all other ingredients. As others suggested, I drained extra water from the chopped onion/pepper by pressing it in a fine sieve before adding it to the beans. Final consistency was like a thick paste so per suggestion of a reviewer I froze the patties before baking in the oven so they would hold up better. Baked flavor was bland, the patty was small, and the center felt mushy while the outside was too dry. Maybe that was a result of freezing? I just made the recipe for the second time and followed the same procedure as before plus the following changes: I doubled the recipe and made 5 patties total so each patty was more substantial, I added a little corn, I squeezed the chopped onion/pepper/corn in cheesecloth and extracted WAY more water than before, I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, I added garlic powder because I didn't have enough fresh, and we grilled the patties. This time the mix was slightly firmer than hamburger and very easy to work with and I did not freeze patties prior to grilling. Texture after grilling was much better and the flavor was stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States