Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are awesome! I am trying to find meatless recipes and I struggle with bean dishes , but these taste amazing! I doubled the amount of breadcrumbs as someone suggested (also used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs) and used 2 eggs. Loved them and my husband did also. This will be a regular dish for us I'm sure !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this , and it was delicious! I did make a few changes though. In addition to the green pepper, I added some sweet peppers. I added garlic powder and sea salt to the egg mixture. Since I didn't have the chili sauce, I used braggs liquid Aminos instead. Lastly, I used gluten free seasoned bread crumbs. The outcome was a tasty , delicious bean burger. It wasn't dried out and had tons of flavor. Will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunte Forester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
So delicious! I was pleasantly surprised! These will be going into our rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just made this recipe, and yes I have to agree with some of you in regards of being a bit difficult o mold the burger because it doesn't hold well. I tried the 2 eggs and the oats and still, but I will keep trying because I really loved how easy it was to make and added a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CChurri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
OMG. I do have to say I really liked this burger! I am a meat eater all the way and this is the 1st veggie burger i have EVER had. I just wanted to try something different and this was a homerun. After draining and washing the bean i dry them as others suggested. I used sweet Thai chili sauce and 1 tbs of BBQ sauce. I also added a little more bread crumbs than what was called for. Formed the patties (4) and placed them in the fridge for 1 hr before cooking in the oven. Served on a kaiser roll with pepper jack cheese, tomato, spinach, sauteed red onions, mayo and ketchup with a side of Ore-Ida Crispy fries ( made in toaster oven). This Veggie burger is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
These turned out great. I added some Worcestershire sauce and a dollop of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce to the mix. Also, instead of baking, I cooked them in my cast iron skillet. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maaybe
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Amazing!!! Thank you!! I used onion, mushrooms, carrots, & some left over spaghetti squash for veggies ;) turned out great & super fast!! Topped with my favorites lettuce, tomato, onion & wholly guacamole ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
The burger gets those two stars only because it was relatively healthy. Besides that I didn't like any aspect of it. My father and I followed the recipe exactly whilst making this, and the burgers were very mushy and fell apart while we flipped (or tried to, in this case) them and put them onto our burger buns. They were very mushy and gooey, even after we left them in the oven for an extended period of time to try and counteract this. The burger also had no flavor whatsoever. I had to douse mine in condiments to get any sort of flavor (mustard flavored mush, ooh, yum). While I was eating this, I DID in fact wish I was eating store-bought frozen burgers. They had so much more flavor and were actually healthier than these. Morningstar products, here I come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made these last minute without reading any reviews first, something I NEVER do! I sort of doubled the recipe: 2 cans beans, 1 c. (give or take as needed) plain bread crumbs, 1 sm-med onion, 2 xlg cloves garlic, 1/2 ea red & yellow peppers, 2-3 tbs olive oil, 2 eggs, 2 tsp cumin (plenty), 2 tbs chili powder, 2 tsp onion pwdr, 1 tsp garlic pwdr, 1 tsp salt. Chop onions, garlic, peppers in food processor; put aside in bowl, coarse chop rinsed beans in processor; add to bowl w/ veggies. Beat two eggs in a clean bowl, add spices, oo & beat well, add to beans & veggies. Mix in breadcrumbs 1/3 of a cup at time until the mixture is thick & will hold together well. I lightly oiled a non stick pizza pan, turning patties after 10 minutes then baking for an additional 10 at 375 as recommended. They came out really well, they held together perfectly & looked like beef burgers. I served them on home baked rolls, with spicy ketchup, diced tomatoes, cukes, & cabbage. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used flour instead of bread crumbs, and let it cook for a while on medium-low heat, and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Semler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States