Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made these last minute without reading any reviews first, something I NEVER do! I sort of doubled the recipe: 2 cans beans, 1 c. (give or take as needed) plain bread crumbs, 1 sm-med onion, 2 xlg cloves garlic, 1/2 ea red & yellow peppers, 2-3 tbs olive oil, 2 eggs, 2 tsp cumin (plenty), 2 tbs chili powder, 2 tsp onion pwdr, 1 tsp garlic pwdr, 1 tsp salt. Chop onions, garlic, peppers in food processor; put aside in bowl, coarse chop rinsed beans in processor; add to bowl w/ veggies. Beat two eggs in a clean bowl, add spices, oo & beat well, add to beans & veggies. Mix in breadcrumbs 1/3 of a cup at time until the mixture is thick & will hold together well. I lightly oiled a non stick pizza pan, turning patties after 10 minutes then baking for an additional 10 at 375 as recommended. They came out really well, they held together perfectly & looked like beef burgers. I served them on home baked rolls, with spicy ketchup, diced tomatoes, cukes, & cabbage. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Tinmouth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
A bit wet. I squeezed the water out of the onions and green peppers, and next time will sautee them to remove even more moisture, and probably use flour instead of crumbs. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Semler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good, I only put in a few sprinkles of chili powder and did not put in a full Tbsp of Cumin. Makes 3 regular sized patties or 4 small ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Liked this recipe. It had good flavor. The main issue is the soft texture. Would like more of a "burger" texture so kids don't notice a difference. I will definitely make this again, but would like suggestions on the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna Davis Shelley
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These burgers were delicious. My husband was skeptical at first but after trying them loved them. Like one commenter mentioned, I tried to make sure the beans were dry before mashing. I added a bit more bread crumbs than the recipe calls for and also added some spicy taco seasoning to the burger mix for added kick. This really upped the flavor. I topped it off with spicy sour cream, spinach and arugula, and sharp cheddar cheese. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Too much onions, peppers, and beans. Wasn't enough egg to hold it together. Tasted like a bean patty, not a burger. There was only one good thing that came out of this. With enough sauce, this is a decent substitute for sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very good recipe. I changed a few things to fit what I had. I put the veggies and egg in the blender. I mixed that and the rest of the ingredients in a bowl. I used rolled oats instead of bread crumbs. I didn't measure. I just cont. to add until I got the thickness I needed to make patties. I also added a pinch of chia seeds and mrs. Dash. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I am a chef at a sorority. I make these for my girls all the time, they live them. I add different ingredients each time with different spices to keep it fresh. Why would you strain the veggies, losing all those great flavors, add some dried french onions instead of bread crumbs!!! Mix up a Chipotle ranch mayo for these with some cheddar cheese. Make a Greek veggie burger with spinach and feta cheese and Greek seasonings, ad a cucumber sauce for extra flavor. Make the patties up and freeze for a short bit, that will ensure a perfect patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as is. The burgers were tasty. They had a black bean taste to them. We will probably make them again with sweet corn added. Over all a good recipe just not what we were expecting.Very easy to make!Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is great however, I needed to put more bread crumbs and dried the black beans after rinsing them to help reduce the burgers from falling apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caron Shimo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States