Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
very good I keep made all the time stored in frig. I add 10 tbsp of dry buttermilk mix to the mix so all I have to do is add water when time to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent! To make your own buttermilk, combine 1 cup milk with 1 TBSP white vinegar, stir, let sit for 2-3 minutes. You will only need 2/3 Cup buttermilk for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVES_POOKY
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have a few suggestions to those who are having a tough time with this recipe. *Do not use bread flour *Do not overknead, you want the lumps there. *Make sure you watch your biscuits, it may finish baking before the stated time. Some ovens are more hotter than others. *If your in a hotter climate, try refrigerating your mix until it's really cold before using it in a recipe. *Make sure your spooning the flour into the measuring cup, you may be adding too much flour. *You could try to use cake flour, if you don't have any cake flour make your own: before adding flour to your measuring cup, add 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch first, then add the all purpose flour to make a cup-do this for all ten cups. Hope this helps, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is an okay recipe, but real biscuits never use oil (if you're limited on your diet, you can use it but they won't be great biscuits) and use shortening instead (or butter, but that one is tricky). Also this does NOT need refrigeration for storage, UNLESS you use butter. Remember that you buy flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and shortening unrefrigerated and none of those are required to be refrigerated after opening. Why start now? Come to think of it, you don't refrigerate Bisquick either! Using powdered buttermilk is a good idea to stir in before hand, but decrease your flour by the same amount and instead of using water (since you have powdered buttermilk in it already) use milk for the liquid. Finally, a lot of people have trouble with biscuits when you "roll it out on a lightly floured surface." If you do have trouble with that, or have trouble kneading, don't bother doing either. Just mix it up well in the bowl, lightly flour the surface (I use an actual body powder puff which was, obviously, never used for body powder) put it out on the surface, gently pat it out, cut it, and use a metal spatula to carefully peel it off. This will get you by until you're a biscuit expert. It sure helped me in my early years! Overworking the dough makes them tough. Finally, the recipe says store for up to 3 months, but I've stored it for much MUCH longer without issues. That varies due to the quality of the ingredients. Some baking powder will lose it's lift, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This mix a fantastic. I'm so glad I found it on this site. No more buying Biscuick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bevy Crocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Finally a recipe I can use my healthy canola oil in instead of those blocks of solid fats! 10-Q, 10-Q, 10-Q !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is a great starter recipe for all kinds of yummy things. My two year old and I made blueberry pancakes using this recipe in place of Bisquck, they turned out fluffy and light. So much cheaper to make verses buying Bisquick and not hard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punky'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oologah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Thanks for the recipe. I was making biscuits this morning and had no biscuit mix. Luckily I looked on this site and of course someone came through! I will use this from now on as I don't like to use prepacked stuff when homemade is so much better and this was so quick and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I can't thank you enough. I had a bunch of pulled pork that was going to go bad, so I decided to make little 'pork pies' using your biscuit mix. I was already in my pj's for the night and didn't want to venture out for a box of Bisquick. You've saved my night, that's for darn sure! Thank you for your wonderful recipe, from the bottom of this Texas girl's heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salado, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Finally – after searching for a long time -- found your really good biscuit mix; thank you! I hate to use Bisquick because the ingredients on the box note aluminum in the baking powder and partially hydrogenated oils. Don't want either of those ingredients in my food! I use only aluminum-free baking powder (easy to find – Argo is one brand). If I don't have buttermilk on hand, I make it by adding 2 teaspoons of vinegar to 3/4 cup of milk. It should be white vinegar; used organic cider vinegar once – interesting taste! Sometimes, I make this marvelous recipe with regular milk and a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt (the acid activates the baking powder). I use olive oil, and, sometimes, coconut oil, just for a different taste. Have made this recipe with orange juice instead of milk (the juice's acid gives the kick to the baking powder). I cut the sugar back a bit. Sometimes, I add yeast to the liquid and let it rise (no kneading). Gives a "bready" flavor – good for pizza base. I always use a Silpat silicone baking liner – NOTHING sticks to it, not even melted cheese or burned brown sugar. Both daughters want me to will my two Silpats to them, ha, ha! -- Mary in warming up Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States