Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wow! I've just made this. Only I set the servings calculator to 6 servings, using 1/3 cup buttermilk (made by adding 1 tsp lemon juice to regular milk). I'd never eaten biscuits before, but these tasted better than what I'd imagined. Thumbs up! And thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is great....love not having to buy biscuit mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have been making this for years and I NEVER buy biscuit mix anymore. BTW I do not use this mix for biscuits. I use it for recipes that call for bisquick. Making homemade buttermilk biscuits is so easy, I would not be inclined to make them from a mix. Still, this is a great recipe for the person who does not like to keep commercial mixes in their pantry. VERY CHEAP to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I'm giving it a 5er even tho' I haven't made it yet! I am grateful for a recipe that doesn't need to use solid fat in it and from other reviewers, it sounds delish!! Thank you, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent! To make your own buttermilk, combine 1 cup milk with 1 TBSP white vinegar, stir, let sit for 2-3 minutes. You will only need 2/3 Cup buttermilk for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
good but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVES_POOKY
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have a few suggestions to those who are having a tough time with this recipe. *Do not use bread flour *Do not overknead, you want the lumps there. *Make sure you watch your biscuits, it may finish baking before the stated time. Some ovens are more hotter than others. *If your in a hotter climate, try refrigerating your mix until it's really cold before using it in a recipe. *Make sure your spooning the flour into the measuring cup, you may be adding too much flour. *You could try to use cake flour, if you don't have any cake flour make your own: before adding flour to your measuring cup, add 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch first, then add the all purpose flour to make a cup-do this for all ten cups. Hope this helps, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the best recipe I have found. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Awesome!! I was looking for I recipes for bisquick so I could make some with whole wheat flour and this one turned out great!! I only used 1 3/4 cup whole wheat and the rest was unbleached all purpose! Now I never have to buy bisquick again=) THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was disappointed in how these biscuits turned out. They were hard on the outside. The recipe certainly was easy to follow, but my biscuits obviously were not as good as other reviewers have described. I don't know if it was something I did. I will try this again (as I have more mix already made!), and hopefully will have better luck the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States