Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this for years, but I use shortening instead of oil, always handy in a pinch for chicken pot pie or recipe that calls for bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pefferlaw, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is an okay recipe, but real biscuits never use oil (if you're limited on your diet, you can use it but they won't be great biscuits) and use shortening instead (or butter, but that one is tricky). Also this does NOT need refrigeration for storage, UNLESS you use butter. Remember that you buy flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and shortening unrefrigerated and none of those are required to be refrigerated after opening. Why start now? Come to think of it, you don't refrigerate Bisquick either! Using powdered buttermilk is a good idea to stir in before hand, but decrease your flour by the same amount and instead of using water (since you have powdered buttermilk in it already) use milk for the liquid. Finally, a lot of people have trouble with biscuits when you "roll it out on a lightly floured surface." If you do have trouble with that, or have trouble kneading, don't bother doing either. Just mix it up well in the bowl, lightly flour the surface (I use an actual body powder puff which was, obviously, never used for body powder) put it out on the surface, gently pat it out, cut it, and use a metal spatula to carefully peel it off. This will get you by until you're a biscuit expert. It sure helped me in my early years! Overworking the dough makes them tough. Finally, the recipe says store for up to 3 months, but I've stored it for much MUCH longer without issues. That varies due to the quality of the ingredients. Some baking powder will lose it's lift, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wow! I've just made this. Only I set the servings calculator to 6 servings, using 1/3 cup buttermilk (made by adding 1 tsp lemon juice to regular milk). I'd never eaten biscuits before, but these tasted better than what I'd imagined. Thumbs up! And thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is great....love not having to buy biscuit mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have been making this for years and I NEVER buy biscuit mix anymore. BTW I do not use this mix for biscuits. I use it for recipes that call for bisquick. Making homemade buttermilk biscuits is so easy, I would not be inclined to make them from a mix. Still, this is a great recipe for the person who does not like to keep commercial mixes in their pantry. VERY CHEAP to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I'm giving it a 5er even tho' I haven't made it yet! I am grateful for a recipe that doesn't need to use solid fat in it and from other reviewers, it sounds delish!! Thank you, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent! To make your own buttermilk, combine 1 cup milk with 1 TBSP white vinegar, stir, let sit for 2-3 minutes. You will only need 2/3 Cup buttermilk for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
good but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVES_POOKY
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have a few suggestions to those who are having a tough time with this recipe. *Do not use bread flour *Do not overknead, you want the lumps there. *Make sure you watch your biscuits, it may finish baking before the stated time. Some ovens are more hotter than others. *If your in a hotter climate, try refrigerating your mix until it's really cold before using it in a recipe. *Make sure your spooning the flour into the measuring cup, you may be adding too much flour. *You could try to use cake flour, if you don't have any cake flour make your own: before adding flour to your measuring cup, add 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch first, then add the all purpose flour to make a cup-do this for all ten cups. Hope this helps, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the best recipe I have found. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States