Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is great....love not having to buy biscuit mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have been making this for years and I NEVER buy biscuit mix anymore. BTW I do not use this mix for biscuits. I use it for recipes that call for bisquick. Making homemade buttermilk biscuits is so easy, I would not be inclined to make them from a mix. Still, this is a great recipe for the person who does not like to keep commercial mixes in their pantry. VERY CHEAP to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I'm giving it a 5er even tho' I haven't made it yet! I am grateful for a recipe that doesn't need to use solid fat in it and from other reviewers, it sounds delish!! Thank you, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent! To make your own buttermilk, combine 1 cup milk with 1 TBSP white vinegar, stir, let sit for 2-3 minutes. You will only need 2/3 Cup buttermilk for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
good but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVES_POOKY
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have a few suggestions to those who are having a tough time with this recipe. *Do not use bread flour *Do not overknead, you want the lumps there. *Make sure you watch your biscuits, it may finish baking before the stated time. Some ovens are more hotter than others. *If your in a hotter climate, try refrigerating your mix until it's really cold before using it in a recipe. *Make sure your spooning the flour into the measuring cup, you may be adding too much flour. *You could try to use cake flour, if you don't have any cake flour make your own: before adding flour to your measuring cup, add 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch first, then add the all purpose flour to make a cup-do this for all ten cups. Hope this helps, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the best recipe I have found. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Awesome!! I was looking for I recipes for bisquick so I could make some with whole wheat flour and this one turned out great!! I only used 1 3/4 cup whole wheat and the rest was unbleached all purpose! Now I never have to buy bisquick again=) THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was disappointed in how these biscuits turned out. They were hard on the outside. The recipe certainly was easy to follow, but my biscuits obviously were not as good as other reviewers have described. I don't know if it was something I did. I will try this again (as I have more mix already made!), and hopefully will have better luck the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just made these, wow...better than I thought. I used regular milk and used the milk as an egg wash for the top before baking, they turned out fantastic. you can eat these just plain out of the oven with no butter, there that good, I will use this recipe for making chicken pot pie also. Thank you for the great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States