Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was great! I liked the fact that you used oil instead of shortening. I don't particually care for shortening in my biscuits. They turned out fluffy and delicious when baked. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't like the taste of commercial biscuit mix, so I never keep it on hand. I wanted to try the Garlic Cheese Biscuits from this site which called for baking mix. I used this Homemade Biscuit Mix recipe and was really pleased. Very easy to work with and tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I needed a biscuit mix for a recipe and since I rarely use it, the box in my pantry had to be thrown away due to the fact that it was only good till 2010 (oooops). I found this recipe made as is and scaled it down to 16 servings, this was the perfect amount for my recipe and I have some left over to make a batch of biscuits. The recipe I used it in turned out fantastic, so I will never buy a box mix again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This mix worked great for our picnic! I mixed it up at home, adding powdered buttermilk, so that all I had to add was water to make the dough. We used a couple of tablespoons of oil to cook them in our pan on our camp stove. They turned out soft, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
While I would not be likely to make biscuits with this mix (I prefer shortening) it is a very good substitute for the stuff in the yellow box and has the advantage of being fresh and you know what all the ingredients are. I have used it for coffee cake and in a quiche type recipe quite well. Thanks for a very handy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe is great! Thanks!! Best when Tenderflake lard is used. Just a note to Graceeh - canola oil is very UNHEALTHY. Better to use peanut or olive or grapeseed or walnut or coconut oil - anything but canola oil. Canola oil is processed using high heat and that destroys all of the healthy qualities by altering the molecules
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I have had this recipe for some time but never got around to trying it. I must say this is the very best biscuit recipe I have EVER found. The bread has a nice and moist crumb, great flavor and every one who has tried them say they are the best I've ever made. Thanks so much for the posting, I plan to keep this mix made up and in my pantry for the future use of this marvelous bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I tried this for buttermilk biscuits. 2 cups mix and 1 cup buttermilk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I have been using a different biscuit recipe from this site for a while now and wanted to try something new. This recipe was quick and easy. The biscuits were light and fluffy. We had biscuits and gravy with them and my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
thanks for this recipe, its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Craighead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States