Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I tried this for buttermilk biscuits. 2 cups mix and 1 cup buttermilk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I have been using a different biscuit recipe from this site for a while now and wanted to try something new. This recipe was quick and easy. The biscuits were light and fluffy. We had biscuits and gravy with them and my husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
thanks for this recipe, its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Craighead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I scaled this back but used it in place of Bisquick for cheddar bay biscuits (just like Red Lobster's). Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Loved it, didn't have buttermilk or vinegar to make it so I just made drop biscuits with regular milk. Reduced oven to 400 and baked a bit longer (4 mins) or so, because they were burning a litle at the higher temp. Came out perfect, fluffy and soft; added some honey to the top once baked and reminded me of churchs honey butter biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Finally – after searching for a long time -- found your really good biscuit mix; thank you! I hate to use Bisquick because the ingredients on the box note aluminum in the baking powder and partially hydrogenated oils. Don't want either of those ingredients in my food! I use only aluminum-free baking powder (easy to find – Argo is one brand). If I don't have buttermilk on hand, I make it by adding 2 teaspoons of vinegar to 3/4 cup of milk. It should be white vinegar; used organic cider vinegar once – interesting taste! Sometimes, I make this marvelous recipe with regular milk and a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt (the acid activates the baking powder). I use olive oil, and, sometimes, coconut oil, just for a different taste. Have made this recipe with orange juice instead of milk (the juice's acid gives the kick to the baking powder). I cut the sugar back a bit. Sometimes, I add yeast to the liquid and let it rise (no kneading). Gives a "bready" flavor – good for pizza base. I always use a Silpat silicone baking liner – NOTHING sticks to it, not even melted cheese or burned brown sugar. Both daughters want me to will my two Silpats to them, ha, ha! -- Mary in warming up Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
"To anyone confused. This is not a recipe for southern style biscuits. It is a subtitute for Bisquick type baking mixes at the store." Either way, this worked pretty good. I liked that it was made with vegetable oil instead of vegetable shortening like the commercial variety. I used the calculate button and made 12 servings. It made about 2 1/2 cups and I needed 2 cups of baking mix for a recipe. The mix is like a crumbly version of the baking mix in a box. I used the liquid measurement on the recipe I chose. Other recipes can also be found on the Bisquick or Jiffy website more likely to use this in such as drop biscuits, pancakes.... The other difference is this dough is a tad more sticky, than the commercial baking mix, once the liquid is added when making a recipe. I had to add 3-4 minutes extra on the baking time on the recipe I made. However, great money saver even if you barely use it. I was told on the buzz that this can be made ahead, and froze in a freezer bag, for when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I haven't made biscuits from scratch in almost 10 years because the first time I made them they turned out wrong. I was always hesitant to try again. I braved it today and they turned out great! There are a few things I'll do differently next time like not roll them out as thin and bake them a little less than the 10 minutes. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious!!! I made just enough for 10 servings and substituted veg. oil for butter. Thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I make this as a fill in for bisquick, which I never seem to keep on hand. I like to use half whole wheat flour, aluminum-free baking powder and instead of vegetable oil, I use the same amount of Crisco and cut it into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter. Super cinch. This halves well and keeps really well in Tupperware in a cool pantry or fridge/freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States