Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
"To anyone confused. This is not a recipe for southern style biscuits. It is a subtitute for Bisquick type baking mixes at the store." Either way, this worked pretty good. I liked that it was made with vegetable oil instead of vegetable shortening like the commercial variety. I used the calculate button and made 12 servings. It made about 2 1/2 cups and I needed 2 cups of baking mix for a recipe. The mix is like a crumbly version of the baking mix in a box. I used the liquid measurement on the recipe I chose. Other recipes can also be found on the Bisquick or Jiffy website more likely to use this in such as drop biscuits, pancakes.... The other difference is this dough is a tad more sticky, than the commercial baking mix, once the liquid is added when making a recipe. I had to add 3-4 minutes extra on the baking time on the recipe I made. However, great money saver even if you barely use it. I was told on the buzz that this can be made ahead, and froze in a freezer bag, for when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I haven't made biscuits from scratch in almost 10 years because the first time I made them they turned out wrong. I was always hesitant to try again. I braved it today and they turned out great! There are a few things I'll do differently next time like not roll them out as thin and bake them a little less than the 10 minutes. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious!!! I made just enough for 10 servings and substituted veg. oil for butter. Thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I make this as a fill in for bisquick, which I never seem to keep on hand. I like to use half whole wheat flour, aluminum-free baking powder and instead of vegetable oil, I use the same amount of Crisco and cut it into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter. Super cinch. This halves well and keeps really well in Tupperware in a cool pantry or fridge/freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Yep! This is good and the biscuits are tender. DON'T knead too much. Will make them tough as a styrofoam cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this for years, but I use shortening instead of oil, always handy in a pinch for chicken pot pie or recipe that calls for bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pefferlaw, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is an okay recipe, but real biscuits never use oil (if you're limited on your diet, you can use it but they won't be great biscuits) and use shortening instead (or butter, but that one is tricky). Also this does NOT need refrigeration for storage, UNLESS you use butter. Remember that you buy flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and shortening unrefrigerated and none of those are required to be refrigerated after opening. Why start now? Come to think of it, you don't refrigerate Bisquick either! Using powdered buttermilk is a good idea to stir in before hand, but decrease your flour by the same amount and instead of using water (since you have powdered buttermilk in it already) use milk for the liquid. Finally, a lot of people have trouble with biscuits when you "roll it out on a lightly floured surface." If you do have trouble with that, or have trouble kneading, don't bother doing either. Just mix it up well in the bowl, lightly flour the surface (I use an actual body powder puff which was, obviously, never used for body powder) put it out on the surface, gently pat it out, cut it, and use a metal spatula to carefully peel it off. This will get you by until you're a biscuit expert. It sure helped me in my early years! Overworking the dough makes them tough. Finally, the recipe says store for up to 3 months, but I've stored it for much MUCH longer without issues. That varies due to the quality of the ingredients. Some baking powder will lose it's lift, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wow! I've just made this. Only I set the servings calculator to 6 servings, using 1/3 cup buttermilk (made by adding 1 tsp lemon juice to regular milk). I'd never eaten biscuits before, but these tasted better than what I'd imagined. Thumbs up! And thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is great....love not having to buy biscuit mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have been making this for years and I NEVER buy biscuit mix anymore. BTW I do not use this mix for biscuits. I use it for recipes that call for bisquick. Making homemade buttermilk biscuits is so easy, I would not be inclined to make them from a mix. Still, this is a great recipe for the person who does not like to keep commercial mixes in their pantry. VERY CHEAP to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States