Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I think it calls for to much baking powered mine turned out bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I don't use this for biscuits, but as a substitute for the baking mix in a box, it's fantastic. My family requested my cheeseburger balls before the super bowl, and I was out of baking mix. On to AR to find a substitute I went, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. I made a much smaller batch, but it worked perfectly. I will never need to buy baking mix again! Oh, and I added a bit of white whole wheat flour for some of the AP flour. No one could even tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These were great! My husband can't stop complimenting them! Thank you for helping me make something we can eat over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
My Mom always had her own biscuit mix on hand, and it was great! I didn't know her quantities, so was happy to find this recipe. Have never tried biscuits with oil, just shortening, butter or margarine. I will have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Biscuits and gravy have become a favorite at my house so I've been looking for a simple mix like this for months so i can stop buying pillsbury biscuits. Just made some and these are EXACTLY what I wanted. Simple ingredients, easy to make,and delicious. Perfect with a little jelly or gravy on top. will be making this A LOT in this house:) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I think this is a good basic recipe. I like the idea of adding powdered milk. I also leave out the oil and add it when I am ready to mix up a batch, that way I don't have to store it in the fridge. Just add 1 oz. of oil or a tablespoon of shortening per cup of mix along with the liquid. This also make great pancakes by adding an egg, a little baking soda for better rise and liquid to the consistency you like. By the way the only way you will get biscuits like the photo is to roll out the dough, butter it, fold it over and roll it out again several times. Then let it rest for 5 to 10 minutes before baking. You may also have to add more baking powder. I'm not sure about the amount of baking powder because I haven't tried it with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I scaled this down to 8 servings which made about 2 cups worth of mix but fixed it according to recipe. I was thrilled how my biscuits turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I did not have the name brand baking mix on hand to make a cheeseburger pie. I looked for a recipe on allrecipes.com and found this one. I adjusted the recipe for 4 servings instead of 48. It worked very nicely and my dinner came out as good as it does with the name brand mix! I will add this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LearningToCook
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
We did this but added one little step: Instead of kneading the dough we mixed, then rolled it out once with a floured roller, spread a thin layer of softend butter then folded it in half and repeated the process about 6 times. Oh my goodness!! They came out so fluffy and layered. We just loved them. And they're GREAT with jam. Thank you so much, it sure makes biscuits at dinner time much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was great! I liked the fact that you used oil instead of shortening. I don't particually care for shortening in my biscuits. They turned out fluffy and delicious when baked. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Chipotle Oil

Make beautiful homemade chipotle oil to give as holiday gifts.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States