Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I'm going to be real and say I made these because we were really tight on Cash and food a few days before payday. I didn't have milk or buttermilk on hand, so I used 1/2 SourCream & 1/2 Water. They baked nice in 8minutes. The bottoms were a golden brown and the tops stayed a bright white. Maybe that was the sour cream? They were both crispy and chewy, which I admire in a biscuit. However, they were a bit crumbly and bland for my taste. I needed coffee to help me choke down a bite that nearly killed me. Paired with coffee and some butter and sugar it was a very good poor man's breakfast. Hot, sweet, and hearty. Defiantly saved us this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Fusco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Great mix to have on hand. I also substituted some buttermilk powder for the flour. I cut the recipe in half since there is only two of us. When I made the biscuits, I added grated cheddar, chopped green onions and some garlic powder. They turned out delicious. Thanks. I too won't be buying Bisquick again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Wish the actual baking recipe was included. At the time I needed biscuit mix for a different recipe and this solved my issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juan Casero
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I first experimented with a small batch about half the sized called for in the recipe. I had never made biscuits before and was not sure what to expect. I needn't have worried. This recipe is awesome. It works every time without fail. I especially liked the extra tip to add buttermilk. I used powdered buttermilk (2.5 tbs + 2/3 cup of water) and 1/8 tsp of salt. The biscuits come out perfect every time. They are identical to the stuff you get at KFC or McDonalds only they don't have saturated fat. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Casero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I make this all the time. I switched from bisquick. It got quite expensive. I prefer Bisquick. this is the next best alternative to Bisquick. I add a little bit more lard to the mix. it takes the mix more fluffy when baking visit a Cyrus and pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwarner75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This recipe is a great recipe.It is a little dry but beside that it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great! May never use Bisquick again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Perfect! It's homemade and takes little time to mix - much less time than going to the store. I just made some lovely biscuits - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is the best chicken I have ever made, juicy though and though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowrose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Super easy! I only made enough for one batch (6 servings) just to try it out. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, used white whole wheat pastry flour and put in only 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder since I was using it right away. I also changed the sugar to 3 tsp to offset the bitterness of the whole wheat flour and baking powder. I used another recipe on this site that uses yogurt instead of buttermilk and the combination was perfect. My three year old did most of the mixing and helped drop the biscuits in the pan. He usually likes to help do everything but eat my biscuits but this time he had three! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States