Homemade Biscuit Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This recipe is a great recipe.It is a little dry but beside that it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Quick-easy and good! Not sure I'll ever buy Bisquick again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Perfect! It's homemade and takes little time to mix - much less time than going to the store. I just made some lovely biscuits - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is the best chicken I have ever made, juicy though and though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowrose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Super easy! I only made enough for one batch (6 servings) just to try it out. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, used white whole wheat pastry flour and put in only 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder since I was using it right away. I also changed the sugar to 3 tsp to offset the bitterness of the whole wheat flour and baking powder. I used another recipe on this site that uses yogurt instead of buttermilk and the combination was perfect. My three year old did most of the mixing and helped drop the biscuits in the pan. He usually likes to help do everything but eat my biscuits but this time he had three! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I just purchased the ingredients for this recipe so I haven't made it yet. I am very excited to find a recipe using oil instead of the hydrogenated shortening most of the recipes call for. I am old enough to remember when they were made with lard. Those were good biscuits. However, lard is hydrogenated now also so I don't use that either. Canola is made of a GMO rapeseed so no matter how good the advertising I cannot think it is as good for us as safflower, corn or coconut oil. I use mostly coconut oil or safflower oil. I also am interested in including the dry buttermilk mix. I am going to go try them right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I need to start out by saying I am not fond of bisquits, I made up these because my husband likes them and we had no biscuit mix. They cook up amazing and fast! And they are delicious! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I just used regular whole milk and they still came out yummy. You have to kinda babysit them a bit or they get dry and hard kinda fast. But I usually babysit my food when I'm cooking anyway so no big deal. I made mine tiny to be served next to eggs and added a dab of butter and honey. these were perfect! Definitively making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My biscuits didn't rise as high as store bought. I think it needed a bit more baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scottvhm
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I used a scaled down portion of this recipe for a caraway beer bread (2.5 cups mix, 2 tbsp sugar, 2 eggs, 1 cup beer) and it worked pretty well. I do wonder if I the baking powder amount could be reduced. (I have another recipe for baking powder biscuits that calls for only 1 tbsp baking powder per 2 cups of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottvhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States