Homemade Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
A good all around barbacue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was pretty good barbecue sauce recipe. I normally like it a little sweeter and a little spicier. I made 1 batch with the recipe as described, but found it sort of bland. So I made another, but this time I sauteed the onion with some chili powder in the melted butter, added a tablespoon of brown sugar, replaced the celery seed and green pepper with a stalk of celery, and swapped the lemon juice for lime juice. That was just the kick it needed! The second way only took about 5 minutes more. The basic sauce is definitely worth a try, and lends itself well to some creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was AWESOME! I used it on a Tofu Turkey for last thanksgiving and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I thought this recipe had good flavor, however, I was looking more for a barbecue sauce I could use to dip nuggets in. This was runny. I tried cooking it a little to try to thicken it up, but it didn't help much. This may be a great recipe for items cooked slowly, but was not very good for a dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Very good sauce!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A tasty sauce, I used it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I improvised a lot on this recipe. I needed a quick barbecue sauce. I only used 1 Cup of ketchup, 1 Cup Water, 2 TBSP Brown Sugar, salt/pepper, 2 TBSP Butter (melted) and mixed them all together and popped the bowl in the microwave and 3 minutes later it was perfect! I used it on pulled pork sandwhiches I slow cooked all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was an ok, basic recipe. If you want a base sauce that you can then start experimenting your own ingredients with, then this is the one. I ended up adding 2 TBl worcitershire sauce an additional TBl of brown sugar and then use 2 TBl of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This sauce did not turn out for me at all. It might have been me b/c I added extra ingredients, such as liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce, & a tiny bit of cajun seasoning. I slow cooked chicken in it all day and by the end, the celery seed was way too overpowering, you could even bite the seeds. Plus it was too ketchupy for me. I followed the recipe, except for my add-ins. I ended up mixing in some store bought barbecue sauce just to try to tone down the strong celery taste. I want to try it again using less ketchup and maybe just a little celery salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
No Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States