Homemade Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was an ok, basic recipe. If you want a base sauce that you can then start experimenting your own ingredients with, then this is the one. I ended up adding 2 TBl worcitershire sauce an additional TBl of brown sugar and then use 2 TBl of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I improvised a lot on this recipe. I needed a quick barbecue sauce. I only used 1 Cup of ketchup, 1 Cup Water, 2 TBSP Brown Sugar, salt/pepper, 2 TBSP Butter (melted) and mixed them all together and popped the bowl in the microwave and 3 minutes later it was perfect! I used it on pulled pork sandwhiches I slow cooked all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A tasty sauce, I used it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Very good sauce!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I thought this recipe had good flavor, however, I was looking more for a barbecue sauce I could use to dip nuggets in. This was runny. I tried cooking it a little to try to thicken it up, but it didn't help much. This may be a great recipe for items cooked slowly, but was not very good for a dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was AWESOME! I used it on a Tofu Turkey for last thanksgiving and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was pretty good barbecue sauce recipe. I normally like it a little sweeter and a little spicier. I made 1 batch with the recipe as described, but found it sort of bland. So I made another, but this time I sauteed the onion with some chili powder in the melted butter, added a tablespoon of brown sugar, replaced the celery seed and green pepper with a stalk of celery, and swapped the lemon juice for lime juice. That was just the kick it needed! The second way only took about 5 minutes more. The basic sauce is definitely worth a try, and lends itself well to some creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
A good all around barbacue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States