Homemade Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
A basic bbq sauce should include: 32oz of ketchup, 1 cup brown surgar, 1/3c of worchestershire sauce, and 1/4c vinegar. This recipe would work if you increase brown surgar and added the worchestershire sauce and vinegar. Hot pepper sauce or cayenne pepper optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookieman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Nice to find a BBQ sauce that doesn't have a smoky or chili powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used this recipe as a building block to create my own quick BBQ sauce. I added a splash of orange juice, minced garlic, and drained cut peaches to the sauce. I omitted the green bell pepers, mustard powder salt, celery seed and lemon juice. My version of this BBQ sauce came out quit nice, with a tangy taste. Poured the BBQ sauce over some chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Sauce was ok, went well with my shredded pork for sandwiches... but too much celery seed. I would recommend cutting the amount of celery seed or just using celery salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This sauce is okay but not really barbecue sauce. It was too ketchup tasting so I added some cayenne pepper vinegar molasses and garlic powder and tried cooking it. It still was an overpowering ketchup taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
No Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This sauce did not turn out for me at all. It might have been me b/c I added extra ingredients, such as liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce, & a tiny bit of cajun seasoning. I slow cooked chicken in it all day and by the end, the celery seed was way too overpowering, you could even bite the seeds. Plus it was too ketchupy for me. I followed the recipe, except for my add-ins. I ended up mixing in some store bought barbecue sauce just to try to tone down the strong celery taste. I want to try it again using less ketchup and maybe just a little celery salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was an ok, basic recipe. If you want a base sauce that you can then start experimenting your own ingredients with, then this is the one. I ended up adding 2 TBl worcitershire sauce an additional TBl of brown sugar and then use 2 TBl of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I improvised a lot on this recipe. I needed a quick barbecue sauce. I only used 1 Cup of ketchup, 1 Cup Water, 2 TBSP Brown Sugar, salt/pepper, 2 TBSP Butter (melted) and mixed them all together and popped the bowl in the microwave and 3 minutes later it was perfect! I used it on pulled pork sandwhiches I slow cooked all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
A tasty sauce, I used it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States