Homemade Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I liked this sauce. I have to say: I only put in some of the ingredients. I put in the ketchup, water, mustard powder, brown sugar, salt, and lemon juice. I have stomach problems, so a barbecue sauce that is mild, and not too spicy or rich, is a good one for me. It could have had more flavor, but it probably would have if I had put in all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Liebhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I like a spicy bbq sauce, so, I omitted the green pepper, cut the Ketchup in half, I added a Tbsp of pepper flakes, a Tbsp of Tabasco sauce, cut back the salt, since all I had was celery salt. A tsp of garlic powder, about 1/4c of grape jelly, a Tbsp of Worchestershire sauce, a tsp of vinegar, a tsp of molasses, I pretty much doctored it up until I liked it!! oh, & a cornstarch slurry so it would thicken abit since it was so runny, I also tripled it since I needed a big batch! I used it in a crockpot of sliced smoked sausage for gameday!! YUMM-O!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Overall, this is a nice, pleasant tasting sauce. It is perfect for those of us who don't like hot spicy or vinegary BBQ. The sauce turned out thinner than I prefer so I simmered it on the stove for about 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Do not shout How could you rate it when you haven't made it! I have a suggestion, instead of using the ketchup, I have made a sauce doing this: reduce a can of stewed tomatoes by half. I will try this and comment (I am also looking for a barbecue that doesn't have all the preservatives; I made one of the recipes for barbecue beans and it was even delicious by itself-one from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very good. Had to add a little more ketchup at first because it was a little watery for me, but otherwise, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I did not think that this was good at all. It tasted very ketchupy. Also, it was very runny. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this recipe is a ok base for a barbecue sauce but the second time i made this i omited the celery seeds because they were a bit overpowering and instead of ketchup i liked to use tomato sauce mixed with tomatoe paste to thicken it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Super fast and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This tasted great on my Ribs i prepared for the 4th! I added an additional table spoon of brown sugar and I sauteed it on the stove a while and added powdered potatoes to give it additional thickness. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States