Homemade Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I like a spicy bbq sauce, so, I omitted the green pepper, cut the Ketchup in half, I added a Tbsp of pepper flakes, a Tbsp of Tabasco sauce, cut back the salt, since all I had was celery salt. A tsp of garlic powder, about 1/4c of grape jelly, a Tbsp of Worchestershire sauce, a tsp of vinegar, a tsp of molasses, I pretty much doctored it up until I liked it!! oh, & a cornstarch slurry so it would thicken abit since it was so runny, I also tripled it since I needed a big batch! I used it in a crockpot of sliced smoked sausage for gameday!! YUMM-O!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Overall, this is a nice, pleasant tasting sauce. It is perfect for those of us who don't like hot spicy or vinegary BBQ. The sauce turned out thinner than I prefer so I simmered it on the stove for about 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Do not shout How could you rate it when you haven't made it! I have a suggestion, instead of using the ketchup, I have made a sauce doing this: reduce a can of stewed tomatoes by half. I will try this and comment (I am also looking for a barbecue that doesn't have all the preservatives; I made one of the recipes for barbecue beans and it was even delicious by itself-one from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Very good. Had to add a little more ketchup at first because it was a little watery for me, but otherwise, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I did not think that this was good at all. It tasted very ketchupy. Also, it was very runny. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this recipe is a ok base for a barbecue sauce but the second time i made this i omited the celery seeds because they were a bit overpowering and instead of ketchup i liked to use tomato sauce mixed with tomatoe paste to thicken it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Super fast and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This tasted great on my Ribs i prepared for the 4th! I added an additional table spoon of brown sugar and I sauteed it on the stove a while and added powdered potatoes to give it additional thickness. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
made it with chicken. it was pretty good. I've used sweet n mild sauce from before to make the chicken. it was about the same. making your own sauce is always fun tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States