Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! My husband and son both have a huge sweet tooth so I followed the recipe with all the sugar :) The only substitution I made was instead of 2 cups of milk, I used 1-1/2 cups 2% milk and 1/2 cup HEB MooTopia 2% Reduced Fat Vanilla milk. It was the perfect amount of vanilla flavoring needed. I also used the 1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter for the meringue. I let it sit overnight to give the bananas and wafers a chance to soak in all the flavors!!! DELICIOUS!!!! I will be making this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r1alviar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I dropped the flour and used cornstarch instead, I think it was creamier and I didn't use the wafers I hate those things. I just wanted the pudding and nothing else. Finding a good banana pudding is next to impossible and the ones i did find I would have had to modify too much. This is the closet I could find to be a real banana pudding. I do not want or like custard which are also redundantly abundant on the internet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLadyAlexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
So good. So very, very good. I have made banana cream pie, banana pudding, etc. but always with instant or some sort of store bought ingredients. The pudding was AWESOME! My husband was just amazed. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
There are a few things I changed and it came out fantastic! I used 3/4 cup of sugar for a double recipe, slightly ripe bananas, 3 cups of milk, 1.5 tsp of Haitian vanilla, 1.5 tsp of cornstarch, and added about another 1/8 cup of flour as I mixed the pudding on the stove to thicken the pudding as I mixed for nearly ten minutes over medium heat. On low, it would never heat through and thicken on my stove. For the meringue, I added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar, a couple sprinkles of salt, and a few drops of vanilla. After leafing through the previous reviews and having never made meringue, I talked to my aunt who is a chef, and she said NEVER bake meringue, always broil because baking with cause the filling to be ruined and runny, so broil I did, and it only took a couple of minutes to lightly brown. You must watch on broil because it will brown QUICKLY! Also, like others have mentioned, save yourself some carpal tunnel surgery and beat the meringue with an electric mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The pudding recipe called for much more sugar than was palatable. It also would have been helpful to know that beating the egg whites for the meringue is best done with an electric mixer. This might be common knowledge, but I had never made meringue before. This clarification would have been easy to include in step number 6 of the directions, and it would have saved me a lot of hassle, mess, eggs, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This by far made my teeth ache from way too much sugar! The basic pudding recipe will be adjusted next time I try it with 1/2 cup sugar and more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen_and_Alan
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It was hard to find a recipe without using a banana pudding mix. This one looked very interesting. I was very surprised to see it all work out well. I used a rectangle taller dish so I should have used three layers instead of two. Next time maybe I'll fold in a mashed banana the liquid pudding before pouring into the dish for more uniform flavor and line the glass dish with Nilla Wafers for visual effect. Another lesson learned was I should have used a mixer to beat the meringue instead of hand beating it for what seemed like 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My husband really loved it. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
didn't set and is way way to sweet....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States