Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shy A. Morris
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was my first time ever making HOMEMADE banana pudding and with this recipe i wish to look no further! I love it! It is a lot better than instant. I wish i would have added just a tad bit more sugar into the pudding, but overall it is the best recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful recipe.I made it just as it was writen. It was very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yes!!! This is what I think! I was waaaaaaay to darn sweet. It gets a 1 rating. If I tried it again I will definitely use less sugar. The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup of sugar, I will use only 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliffton Keys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Followed this recipe and the pudding was completely watery, complete liquid. Never got thick. I continued the recipe thinking it would eventually get thick. NO! Its still watery. Im going to refrigerate it overnight and hopefully it gets thick but as of right now its not edible. I wont be following this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I was worried with the amount of time to make the old fashioned banana pudding, but was really surprised. Not only is it easy, my kids fought over licking the spoon and sauce pan once I got finished! It's for a memorial day party so I'll find out how good it actually is later. I did adjust the sugar after reading some of the reviews, though. Fingers crossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This pudding is absolutely the best! Hands down better than any boxed jello pudding, however I made some adjustments to the recipe. I made this recipe 3 times to get it to the perfect sweetness and flavor. My ending result is: 1/3 c. Sugar, 1/4 c. Flour, 2 c. Milk, 3 egg yolks, 1 t. Butter, & 1 t. Vanilla extract. My husband has eaten almost the entire batch before it even had a chance to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this recipe for Easter and everyone loved it. I think when I make it again I will cut the sugar as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Herbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! My husband and son both have a huge sweet tooth so I followed the recipe with all the sugar :) The only substitution I made was instead of 2 cups of milk, I used 1-1/2 cups 2% milk and 1/2 cup HEB MooTopia 2% Reduced Fat Vanilla milk. It was the perfect amount of vanilla flavoring needed. I also used the 1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter for the meringue. I let it sit overnight to give the bananas and wafers a chance to soak in all the flavors!!! DELICIOUS!!!! I will be making this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r1alviar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I dropped the flour and used cornstarch instead, I think it was creamier and I didn't use the wafers I hate those things. I just wanted the pudding and nothing else. Finding a good banana pudding is next to impossible and the ones i did find I would have had to modify too much. This is the closet I could find to be a real banana pudding. I do not want or like custard which are also redundantly abundant on the internet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLadyAlexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States