Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This is the best homemade pudding my husband and I have ever tasted...but please reduce your sugar...I find 1/2 c. sugar to 2 c. whole milk provides just the perfect backdrop for the eggs and vanilla extract to show off their flavors. Oh my goodness, it is really that good!!! My husband and I also think the dish could use more pudding, so next time we will increase milk to 3 c., and adjust sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Yum!! I usually use the recipe on the vanilla wafer box, but, I didn't have the wafers, yet, so... I doubled the recipe (because I like extra...I'll share that in a minute). I added about 1/2 tsp salt. I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup (1.5 cup for double recipe). Cooked on med.hi. heat in a double boiler until it thickened, (be patient and make sure to cook at high enough heat, but not too high). When done, I poured 1/2 of pudding into a bowl and added the vanilla (2 tsp) and chill before making the banana pudding, hot pudding has always made my wafers mushy. The other half of the pudding stayed in the double boiler on low heat and got a good dollop of semi-sweet chocolate chips, they melt quickly and VOILA! Delicious chocolate pudding!! Since this is a sweet pudding, even with the sugar cut back, bittersweet chocolate chips (or cocoa powder) would be good. I'll put this one in my recipe file, hopefully my family will carry on the YUMMM. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
If i can be honest a moment, this is by far the best rendition of banana pudding yet. I give u 2 thumbs up w/5 stars...very good recipe. You're taking me back when things were just plain and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I thought heaven had felled in my mouth when i made this pudding.iI was so good but i did change it a little.I didn't used the 2 c of whole milk.I used 1 c carnation milk 3/4 c of 2%milk and the rest in heavy cream to measure 2 c of milk.I did as other reviewer suggested in decreasing the sugar.I used 3/4 instead of 1 1/2 c of sugar.I believe i cooked the pudding on medium for the 1st 5 min and then decrease the temp to low for the rest of the 10 min whisking frequently in the 15 minutes.Adding cornstarch at the end to thickened it up.And then however i let the pudding refrigerate for 1hr 30 min.Once it firmed up i took it out of the frig. Layer my pan with vanilla waffer add the banana in then the pudding.And i continue that untill it reach the top, i didn't do a meringue topping i just place crushed vanilla waffer on top.This was my first attempt at making an homeade banana pudding becasuse i always opted for the easy instant jello way out.But i'm through with instant pudding mix this will be my one and only banana pudding recipe.Thanks a million for such a delish pudding.Yummy Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good pudding, but cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. I like to dip the bananas in lemon juice and sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg. And the last change is to the meringue, I use 2/3 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is how my Granny made it....I only changed a couple of things. I used all the sugar-I have a BIG sweet tooth-But as my grandma used to do it instead of meringue I put one more layer of Nilla Wafers on top and served it warm. I also used Mini Nilla Wafers so my children could enjoy it-They bounced off the walls for hours! I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleview, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who is a "pudding snob"- I can not stand instant pudding, and prefer to not eat the boxed stuff at all. I agree it's a good idea to cut back on the sugar and throw in a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My family loved this Banana Pudding Pie. I did cut back on the sugar and will cut back some more the next time. I like this site because you can review what others have experience and make the changes for a good dish. Overall I loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyshay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought this was good. I did reduce the sugar like some of the others (which I am glad I did) But in the meringue I followed someones suggestion of 2/3 instead of a 1/2 cup (I believe) DON'T DO THIS! KEEP IT THE ORGINAL AMOUNT OF SUGAR OR A LITTLE LESS. It turned out way to sweet! But I did add Vanilla and cream of tartar (which I don't think was a bad idea). If I had of just added those 2 things and did not add more sugar to meringue the recipe would of been great. Next time I will know better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash0607

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Spectacular. BUT TAKE NOTE!. That's a lot of suger! 3/4 cup should be plenty and I always add 1/4tsp cream of tartar and a splash of vanilla to my meringue. This is so good! I would say this serves 4 to maybe 6 since about half of each serving is airy meringue, so I would recommend doubling the recipe if you anticipate people wanting seconds, more generous portions, or if you're feeding more than 4 or 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States