Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
Just like my dad used to make when I was a kid. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Its a wonderful recipe for those Banana pudding lovers who want something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
I think the recipe would have tasted better if it included a dash of salt. Without salt it tastes too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
If i can be honest a moment, this is by far the best rendition of banana pudding yet. I give u 2 thumbs up w/5 stars...very good recipe. You're taking me back when things were just plain and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Marvelous! This is the closest recipe to my Grandmother's that I have found. She passed away in Oct. before I could get hers. I have missed this dessert, but this recipe is wonderful. Increased the heat to medium when cooking the pudding mixture and added a pinch of salt as suggested by another user. I cooked it on low for a long time, but it seemed not to be thickening. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This was *way* too sweet for my family. Sorry, did I do something wrong? I would try it again but would probably cut back on the sugar in the pudding by about 1/4-1/2 cup! I also think the vanilla was a little strong - I will cut down to 1.5 tsp. next time. The meringue was a nice addition. I did add a pinch of salt like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I'm eating a dish of this pudding (didn't make it into a pie) right now, and in a few minutes I will probably be bouncing off the walls from a serious sugar high. I agree with the previous reviewer that this is FAR too much sugar. Next time I'll decrease it to one cup. There will be a next time, however, as otherwise this pudding is delicious: smooth and creamy with a glossy texture and rich flavor. I too added the pinch of salt; that's good advice for all sweet recipes. I also substituted soy milk with marvelous results. This is definitely a good, old-fashioned pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Very delicious, I didn't add as much sugar thanks to previous reviews, and it was by far better tasting than anything out of a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This recipe is terrific! I made the change recommended by other reviews (less suger - 1 cup)and I used whole wafers and an 8x8 square casserole dish. The pudding was gone in 1 1/2 days! I will ALWAYS use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Fabulous! This has become the only recipe I use for banana pudding. Sometimes we leave off the topping, but it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILLYPICKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Fulton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fulton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States