Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by cookfresh
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! I used 1/2 sugar, and chilled the pie for 3 hours. I will def make this again and again =p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Quite quick and simple - nothing outstanding, but nice solid base. Second batch, I decreased sugar to 3/4 cup (probably should stay at 1 cup) and added only 1 t vanilla (stay with 2). Make sure heat is OFF when incorporating egg yolks - I had a bit of a problem with my 2nd batch and had to run through strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is the recipe I use when I want pudding. I agree that it needs less sugar. When I made it as a pie it got runny when it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gr00vymama3
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, except the sugar and I doubled everything to make a large enough amount for my family. I actually used 1 1/2 cups of sugar (when everything else was doubled). It was absolutely great. Reminded me of the banana pudding my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr00vymama3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Supply, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dalzell, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it was way too sweet. Should have reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was good the day it was made but not the next day. I doubled the pudding as one recipe would not have been near enough and yes, cut down on the sugar. My pudding was a little too thick so added a little more milk. I laid the wafers in whole and did not layer twice. I agree that it tasted like a custard instead of pudding and I didn't care for the soggy vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Indeed an excellent recipe. But please realize this is not a pudding at all, it is a CUSTARD. This would be more commonly known as a "Banana Cream Pie" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
THIS IS a delicious recipe EXCEPT next time I WILL reduce the sugar. I added 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar to the egg whites and got a creamier meringue. I reduced the oven temp. to 330 and only baked it for ten minutes - just a tip if your oven runs hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I liked the taste of the pudding but I found that it was too soupy. I tried it several different times and different ways and could never get it right. Maybe it was just me, probably won't attempt this one again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
...so delicious! My first attempt to make pudding pie, and gosh, I wish I've known earlier how easy it is to make pudding! I followed the instruction exactly, and it turned out so delicious. Served with a sprinkle of ground cinnamon on top, and it was heavenly! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emleigha

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States