Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by cookfresh
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! I used 1/2 sugar, and chilled the pie for 3 hours. I will def make this again and again =p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Quite quick and simple - nothing outstanding, but nice solid base. Second batch, I decreased sugar to 3/4 cup (probably should stay at 1 cup) and added only 1 t vanilla (stay with 2). Make sure heat is OFF when incorporating egg yolks - I had a bit of a problem with my 2nd batch and had to run through strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is the recipe I use when I want pudding. I agree that it needs less sugar. When I made it as a pie it got runny when it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gr00vymama3
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, except the sugar and I doubled everything to make a large enough amount for my family. I actually used 1 1/2 cups of sugar (when everything else was doubled). It was absolutely great. Reminded me of the banana pudding my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr00vymama3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Supply, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dalzell, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it was way too sweet. Should have reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was good the day it was made but not the next day. I doubled the pudding as one recipe would not have been near enough and yes, cut down on the sugar. My pudding was a little too thick so added a little more milk. I laid the wafers in whole and did not layer twice. I agree that it tasted like a custard instead of pudding and I didn't care for the soggy vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Indeed an excellent recipe. But please realize this is not a pudding at all, it is a CUSTARD. This would be more commonly known as a "Banana Cream Pie" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
THIS IS a delicious recipe EXCEPT next time I WILL reduce the sugar. I added 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar to the egg whites and got a creamier meringue. I reduced the oven temp. to 330 and only baked it for ten minutes - just a tip if your oven runs hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I liked the taste of the pudding but I found that it was too soupy. I tried it several different times and different ways and could never get it right. Maybe it was just me, probably won't attempt this one again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
...so delicious! My first attempt to make pudding pie, and gosh, I wish I've known earlier how easy it is to make pudding! I followed the instruction exactly, and it turned out so delicious. Served with a sprinkle of ground cinnamon on top, and it was heavenly! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emleigha

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States