Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This turned out SO good! I took it for Easter dinner yesterday and the pie was gone by the end of the day. I followed the recipe just like it said. I did however forget to add the vanilla and it still turned out. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a true "Southern banana pudding" recipe. This is exactly how my mother and grandmother made it. I hate the instant vanilla pudding recipes and this was the only recipe I could find on this site a few years ago that didn't use it. The only thing I change to make it "more southern" is extra bananas and a whole box of wafers (not crushed) because I make this in a 8x11 casserole dish, not as a pie. Just line your dish with whole wafers and do two layers. So easy. I've been making this for years from this exact recipe and I get requests every holiday to bring it. Tip to those who can't get their pudding to thicken, cook it on LOW - MED heat. It takes a little while to thicken, that's why it's not INSTANT! Keep stirring, it will thicken just be patient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Good but REALLY REALLY sweet. Very sugar tasting. Maybe if it was made with a bit of lemon juice on the bananas and less sugar. Anyhow it wasn't bad just really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
WAY TOO SWEET!! I meant to cut down on sugar, but forgot & boy did I regret it. Changed the meringue to freshly whipped cream, which helped to cut down on the sweetness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This "pie" tasted great, but it was more like mush than pie. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and put the pudding in the fridge to cool before making the pie, but the crust was mushy and didn't hold together. Even after adding 1 tsp cornstarch to the pudding, it never thickened so the entire pie was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I found this recipe by accident, and boy, sure glad I did! Made this last night.. I was nervous about the pudding never thickening up, but it finally did. I agree, it is quite sweet, so I will cut this down to a 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was great! Even my mom who usually does not like banana desserts liked it!!! Thanks for sharing! The reason I stumbled across this recipe was because my boyfriend asked me to make him a banana pudding pie because his aunt makes one, but I think she uses the instant pudding mix. I hope he likes it when I make it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaerika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
perect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Hubby and I were very disappointed. Pudding did not set at all. It was one big liquidy mess. Next time I try this I will sub corn starch for the flour and maybe I will have better luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
definitly original and oh so good the fake banana pudding aint got nothing on this homemade one i remember eatn this all the time when i was lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States