Homemade Banana Pudding Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
WAY TOO SWEET!! I meant to cut down on sugar, but forgot & boy did I regret it. Changed the meringue to freshly whipped cream, which helped to cut down on the sweetness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This "pie" tasted great, but it was more like mush than pie. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and put the pudding in the fridge to cool before making the pie, but the crust was mushy and didn't hold together. Even after adding 1 tsp cornstarch to the pudding, it never thickened so the entire pie was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I found this recipe by accident, and boy, sure glad I did! Made this last night.. I was nervous about the pudding never thickening up, but it finally did. I agree, it is quite sweet, so I will cut this down to a 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was great! Even my mom who usually does not like banana desserts liked it!!! Thanks for sharing! The reason I stumbled across this recipe was because my boyfriend asked me to make him a banana pudding pie because his aunt makes one, but I think she uses the instant pudding mix. I hope he likes it when I make it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaerika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
perect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Hubby and I were very disappointed. Pudding did not set at all. It was one big liquidy mess. Next time I try this I will sub corn starch for the flour and maybe I will have better luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
definitly original and oh so good the fake banana pudding aint got nothing on this homemade one i remember eatn this all the time when i was lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
like everybody else, i say cut the sugar in half and use the raw sugar instead of the refined stuff. it just tastes much better. also, make more pudding. i increased it by another half. the first meringue i tried to make didnt work. i think that some yolk got into it, or something. maybe i didnt mix it enough before the sugar. the second time, i made sure to whip the whites until stiff,THEN put the sugar in and whip until very stiff. try putting strawberries in it too. very good. i cooked it a little longer, too. just until brown, about another 5 min. overall, better than my moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Hands down- best banana pudding ever. Followed the reciped exactly but can't make meringue to save my life- topped with more nilla wafers, you can never have too many!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
It was really good--just make sure you're NOT using old bananas. I made the mistake of putting in one frozen ripened banana and whenever I came across one of the slices it was definitely an unappetizing difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States