Homemade Baking Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This baking mix tastes Better than Bisquick IMO and of course doesn't have the additives. I have used it for basic biscuits, beer and cheese biscuits, pancakes (I don't like Bisquick pancakes but this mix was delicious) and biscuit topping for chicken pot pie. It's perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
For recipes and instructions for using the mix: I like to go to BettyCrocker,com and do a search for 'Bisquick recipes'...there are a TON of great ideas for how to use the mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I thought this tasted just liked the boxed stuff at the store. I used the change servings button and changed it to 4 servings. It made 1 3/4 of a cup of mix, close to what I needed for a recipe. My only change was using butter instead of shortening as it was what I had. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
If you use butter, not only will the texture change, but if you do not keep it refrigerated, it will quickly become rancid. DO NOT USE OIL---it can't be "cut in" so it won't work at all well. This leaves two choices: all vegetable margarine, if you have it in Australia or lard, which is the ingredient that "all vegetable Crisco" (a well-known brand of shortening) originally replaced. Lard isn't particularly good for anyone, but neither is hydrogenated vegetable shortening. Lard should give a superior texture to baked goods, but since it is an animal fat, it might need to be refrigerated like butter--I really don't know because I don't use lard. I just remember my mother telling me it was "old fashioned" Crisco and Mom used lard only to make my grandmother's recipes for authenticity and nostaligia, probably. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Perfect for those recipes that call for baking mix! I only needed a small amount so I adjusted the serving size to 2 so I could make the Johnsonville Sausage Balls (made half that recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made a few changes that some may like. I used self rising flour. There are 6 and 2/3 cups flour in a two pound bag. I used a combination of dry goat milk and cows milk. Goat milk is healthier and richer but expensive. I used 3/4 cup dry milk, 3tblsp sugar, a dash of salt and did not add oil. When I make a recipe it is easy enough to add coconut oil or butter and I prefer either of them to regular cooking oil. I measure that by eye so can't give you an amount. I then add enough water to get the consistency I want. As I am a get it done quick cook I usually make a drop batter rather than one that needs to be rolled and cut. The biscuits are heavenly and the dumplings just add so much to a hearty soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is great! My husband is diabetic and I can easily make this suitable for him. And it's made from things I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I live in Australia. We dont have shorting here. Should I use butter or oil for this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used self rising flour instead of all purpose and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. This made my biscuit recipes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I scaled back the recipe to make 3 cups of this mixture to make 'Beer Muffins' from AR. It worked fantastic. Really no need to buy a pre-mix anymore. To make 3 cups: 2 1/2 c. + 2 TB flour; 1/4 c. + 2 t. dry milk; 1 TB + 1 1/4 t. baking powder; 1 TB + 1/2 t. sugar; 1 t. salt; 1/4 c. + 2 t. shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States