Homemade Baking Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is great! My husband is diabetic and I can easily make this suitable for him. And it's made from things I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I live in Australia. We dont have shorting here. Should I use butter or oil for this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used self rising flour instead of all purpose and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup. This made my biscuit recipes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I scaled back the recipe to make 3 cups of this mixture to make 'Beer Muffins' from AR. It worked fantastic. Really no need to buy a pre-mix anymore. To make 3 cups: 2 1/2 c. + 2 TB flour; 1/4 c. + 2 t. dry milk; 1 TB + 1 1/4 t. baking powder; 1 TB + 1/2 t. sugar; 1 t. salt; 1/4 c. + 2 t. shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I've made this twice and have used it for biscuits, pancakes, and waffles. It works our great and I plan on taking it on our camping trips. I use 2 C.mix and 1 1/3 C. water for pancakes. 2 C.mix and 1/2 C. water for miscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie Caravello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is great! Keep it sealed in a large glass jar in my pantry. For those who don't know what to do with it, you use it as a substitute for Bisquick. That's what it's for. If you don't know what Bisquick is or how to use it, visit the Betty Crocker website and look up Bisquick recipes. Not sure, but if you didn't know what to do with the recipe, why would you even look it up? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Homemade baking mixes, like this one, are a great shortcut for busy cooks. All the flavor and convenience of Bisquick with none of the preservatives. For the two users who gave the recipe a lower rating because you don't know what to do with it: use it as a substitute for any recipe that calls for Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
You will never have to buy Bisquick again, with all of those preservatives. I did not add the dry milk. When I was ready to make biscuits, I used 2 cups of the mix, and 3/4 cup of buttermilk, made with Saco. This made 6 nice sized biscuits. Some of you were wanting to know. This worked well for me. They were delicious biscuits. Thank you fayyr for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Shouldn't you include instructions on how to t use the mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Vader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Perfect as a substitute when I needed baking mix. I love subs like this, as I'm often without them but I bake and cook constantly. And, I hate waiting until I can go to the store to find ingredients. This worked wonderfully, and now I have extra for other recipes that call for baking mix. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States