Homemade Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I added a bit of cumin to counter some of the sweetness and I omitted the salt. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette Massey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I just made this home-made baked beans recipe and my family LOVES it! I did alter the recipe a smidge though---I substituted onion powder for the fresh onions (since my husband can't handle the real thing), I only used 2 tablespoons of molasses since other reviews state it was a bit too sweet with 3, and I didn't put the bacon in it because I was all out. Even with these changes, this recipe was easy to make and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Super yum and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was very good. Took it to a party and it got rave comments. I did cut the brown sugar in half after reading the comments and I was glad I did. I also added an additional can of beans and cut the water down a little bit. It was still a little soupy after cooking longer than recommended. If you want it a bit drier, definitely plan on more time. Overall, pleased with the products and the bacon cooking is the most time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
The ingredients in this recipe are exactly what we've used in my family for generations, so I thought I'd give using canned beans a try! (PS. My dog said he didn't give out the recipe! LOL) I used Goya Small White beans which eliminated the traditional process of soaking, boiling, etc. Also, because the canned beans are precooked, the actual bean pot to table time was considerably less. Great short cut! Glad I tried it! Thanks Mariap430!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainLadyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars, is because I needed to adjust the ketchup and molasses. Made as written, it was too bland for my taste. I'm not sure how much I adjusted; I just kept adding until it tasted correct. I too lessened the water and brown sugar to 1/2 cup each. I also sauteed the onion in some bacon fat for some added flavor. With my adjustments, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
First Homemade BB I have tried. Really great basic recipe. I made small adjustments just based on common sense and what my family and friends tend to like flavor wise and its definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Love Love Love This recipe!! This was my first attempt at homemade Baked beans And I never new it could be so simple!! These were very tasty! I did halve the water and I think I can even use even less next time around.Delicious and simple my kind of recipe! Before baking it I put strips of bacon on top Holy Bacon!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I really thought this was great & super easy. I will never eat premade canned beans again! I totally forgot to add the brown sugar which was a good thing. I added extra bacon though, and sautéed my onion in the bacon fat before mixing! Delish...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I submitted this version and what I created originally does not show 1 cup water. Perhaps that was added by Allrecipes when it was published. That would definitely make it too soupy in my opinion. One tip is that I often use the pre-cooked bacon and it works just as well and saves a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States