Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vashanti
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I LOVE IT!!!!!My family loved them. The tasted incredibly good. total time was not 50 minutes, a little longer. but heck totally worth it. Next time I will try adding raisins and whatnot. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vashanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Easy recipe. I make different toppings ... cheese, cinnamon sugar, everything seasoning blend ... turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is phenomenal!!! Easy and delicious!! I have ran with it and made multi-grain bagels, honey oat, cinnimon raisin, raosted garlic and chive, cheddar chive, monterrey jack cheese and jalapeno and more! This is an amzing basic recipe and thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
MMMMmmmm, very good. MAde bagels for the first time, will definitely be adding this recipe to my make all the time recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Blair Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I just can't get the boiling part down. They come out a little gummy. Maybe, I will try again. I just used an egg wash and skipped the boiling part for now. They didn't come out like a bagel, more like a mix between bagel and english muffin. Still good, but that step is crucial for bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Yummy recipe. I got compliments all around. I also made some big pretzels from the dough as well and they came out great. Make them plain or toss a little cheese or an "everything" mix on the top before baking. Delish. A couple things though; mine came out a bit flat, so I suggest just skipping the "flatten" step. They also failed to sink in the water, so I let them float for a couple minutes, flipped them, and repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissDanielleXx9
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I used this recipe to make bagels for the first time ever and I am very happy with how they turned out! I only made a small change and that was I used gluten free flour instead of regular all-purpose flour. I had to use less flour because of this change and had to bake them slightly longer (about 30 mins). I love bagels and this is definitely one of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Just made these for the third time in a week - so yummy! My first batch didn't turn out well, but I'm glad I gave it another chance. I made these exactly as written with one small addition - I brushed the egg white over the tops just before they went into the oven... this gives them a nice golden top that looks beautiful. I made 12 bagels, as written, and they were about the size of a donut (4" diameter, 1.5" thick)... perfect size for my kids and I. For boiling, when I put them in the pan of water they floated on the top right away. I boiled them for one minute on each side. My first batch I boiled for 3 minutes on each side, and I think they becoming water-logged and didn't rise in the oven after that... they were quite flat and not pretty. Tip: when letting the dough rise for an hour, I put the covered bowl in a few inches of water in my kitchen sink... stays nice and warm, and rises great. Tip: after boiling, I made sure they went into the oven with the side up that was up when they were rising. This is the smoothest side, and will look the nicest in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My kids and I had a blast making these today and boy, were these were perfect! Just the right balance of crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. The whole family loved them and I plan on making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was the first bagel recipe I have tried. They turned out wonderfully! I need not look any further for another one. The only complaint is that I greased my pan and they still stuck. I will definitely make this recipe over and over again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States