Homemade Apple Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
YUM! I love it when I find a healthy, gluten free recipe that tastes YUMMY too! I played with it a bit and used a bit more. I used a little organic sugar, but I used mostly agave nectar for sweetener. Also, I used coconut flour instead of coconut and I ground some flax seed instead of almond meal. I also added a few oats to round it out! WOW! It's fun to play around and find such wonderful fun flavors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiph
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I found this recipe, when searching for wheat-free recipes... and was SO pleased with it's results. However, due to taste preferences & availability, I did make a few changes. Here is what I did...I used brown sugar instead of white... increased the sugar & cinnamon amounts, to better coat the apples... substituted oat flour (rolled oats in the coffee grinder - about 1/8 cup whole oats = about 1/4 cup flour) for the rice.... and I omitted the coconut! It turned out SO amazingly delicious!!! (and the family devoured it!) I will definitely make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I felt this was a really good start, but I had to adjust quite a few things. I had to use quite a bit more sugar and cinnamon for the apples than it called for, then I had to more than double the topping. I also used a gluten free flour blend (brown rice flour, tapioca flour, and potato starch) instead of straight rice flour. The results were fantastic, and because I am gluten intolerant, I plan to use this topping recipe for all my crisps. Very good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Felt like there was something missing in the crumble so I added 1/4 cup of rolled oats and instead of rice flour, used all purpose flour. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Delicious! You can't go wrong with a simple, easy-to-follow recipe like this (which reminds me of the apple crumble my Mum would make for the family, growing up). For added crunch, I used a little Sultana Bran (cereal). This was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
really freaking good! served with some haagan dazs carmel ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
What a wonderful dessert. Served this with a small dollop of whipped cream. The coconut was divine in the crumble topping. Will definitely show this recipe off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFLAUREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Great recipe. Cooked it for my family. They loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Simple, yet delicious restaurant quality crumble! I strongly recommend this, my little sister loves it, along with my father. Definitey a healthy dessert for all ages, but not short of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States