Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I used the same recipe, but I used my juicer to juice the apples instead of heating and simmering them on the stove. I highly recommend using a juicer if you have one, it makes this recipe quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. I halved it, and used a homemade pie spice blend in lieu of the allspice and cinnamon. Didn't have cheesecloth so I made do with what I had. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was an exciting new technique and recipe for me. I'm hardly an apple cider aficionado (and had to look up the difference between "juice" and "cider"), but this tasted really good, and the bottle of store-brand cider in my fridge couldn't compare. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It didn't say what kind of apples to use, but I did a tiny bit of research and decided to mix 5 Cameos and 5 Granny Smiths. I also presumed I didn't need to bother removing the stems, cores or seeds; I just quartered the apples and tossed them into my stockpot. This also marked only the second time I'd ever used cheesecloth. I was a bit careful with the two sieving steps, but overall the recipe is quite easy, even though it stretches out over 3 hours, plus more time to chill. I've already told people about how easy and tasty this is, and I plan to make another batch this coming weekend. Thanks for opening up a new dimension for this intermediate cook, and such a delicious taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
soooo simple! although it took 3 hours, it was definately worth it! but i only got 2 cups of cider (exactly)!! so next time i think im going to leave it uncovered for maybe half the time and lower the heat. but will definately make again! oh! and i didnt have any allspice so i just added some extra cinnamon, a little nutmeg and a dash of pepper. still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. This is my first time making homemade apple cider but it was very tasty and my two year old daughter just loved it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is delicious! I put the apples in a pot with a pasta insert easy, cleaner straining! Instead of adding the ground spices I added a cinnamon stick and a few cardamon seeds. In the last hour add a dry red pepper to the simmering apples for a nice little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent. Afterwards I also added some red wine to it and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Awesome! I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. While I would say make this when you're going to be around the house all day just so you can keep an eye on it, it is certainly NOT time consuming. What could be easier than cutting up apples, dumping them in a pot with some spices and letting it do its thing? The straining can be a bit messy, but it's not too bad. Next time I may add less sugar and cinnamon and more apples just because I like my cider really strong, but overall it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So easy. Did not read the directions carefully so I peeled and cored the apples. I did not have cheese cloth so I just put the cider through a strainer and although there were some bits it was really good. We all enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Couto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Boiling at low heat is key! My first time making apple cider and it was a breeze! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States