Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I used the same recipe, but I used my juicer to juice the apples instead of heating and simmering them on the stove. I highly recommend using a juicer if you have one, it makes this recipe quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Try simmering everything in a crock pot and strain it when you get home from work - easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I just finished making it. It was simple, but time consuming. I made it exactly as written. It is very good. My picky 12 year old even drank a cup and said she would drink it again. I will say that something must've went wrong because I only got about a quart of cider when it was all said and done. I think boiling it for an hour was too much and broke it down too fast and then after that it started evaporating. I will for sure make it again, but will put less heat on at first and not boil it uncovered that long. I will make more within the next couple of days and let you know how that goes.-----ok I made it again, I added more water (won't do again) it was ok just watered down, so if I happen to do it again, I will do exactly as stated but will just shorten the boiling time and end up with only a quart of cider, but very yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
not sure why everyone is saying "time consumeing". I cut up the apples, filled the pan with water, put in the sugar and spices and threw it on the woodstove. was impressed with how simple the whole process was. I used a v-shaped coffee filter and it took out all the soilds. this is a simple recipe for those who don't have a press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was an exciting new technique and recipe for me. I'm hardly an apple cider aficionado (and had to look up the difference between "juice" and "cider"), but this tasted really good, and the bottle of store-brand cider in my fridge couldn't compare. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It didn't say what kind of apples to use, but I did a tiny bit of research and decided to mix 5 Cameos and 5 Granny Smiths. I also presumed I didn't need to bother removing the stems, cores or seeds; I just quartered the apples and tossed them into my stockpot. This also marked only the second time I'd ever used cheesecloth. I was a bit careful with the two sieving steps, but overall the recipe is quite easy, even though it stretches out over 3 hours, plus more time to chill. I've already told people about how easy and tasty this is, and I plan to make another batch this coming weekend. Thanks for opening up a new dimension for this intermediate cook, and such a delicious taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Awesome! I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. While I would say make this when you're going to be around the house all day just so you can keep an eye on it, it is certainly NOT time consuming. What could be easier than cutting up apples, dumping them in a pot with some spices and letting it do its thing? The straining can be a bit messy, but it's not too bad. Next time I may add less sugar and cinnamon and more apples just because I like my cider really strong, but overall it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Thank you for having a GENUINE apple cider recipe as apposed to all of the so-called recipes that call for apple cider as an ingredient to "MAKE" apple cider. I am applaud that allrecipes has published soo many fraudulent "recipes" yet I have a very unique family candy recipe they have yet to to even review (after 4 years!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent. Afterwards I also added some red wine to it and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this today using ten very large apples, cores removed, and following the rest of the proportions. I reduced the heat on the boil - just barely kept it boiling but not boiling too hard - and did the full hour. I really didn't lose that much liquid. My cider wasn't too sweet at all, but we felt it needed a pinch of salt and more spices, so I added those at the end. After straining, I got 2.5 liters of cider, so definitely not a full gallon. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and used the pulpy apples that were left to make the best darn apple butter I've ever had: added 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup white sugar, a tsp of salt, ground cloves, nutmeg and more cinnamon and cooked with a lid for three hours and without a lid for another hour and a half. I used an immersion blender to blend in the apple skins and got four cups yield. YUM all around - happy with the cider and the apple butter, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This recipe is delicious! Instead of boiling it for an hour, I waited for the water to boil and treated like soup by reducing the heat and simmering for the other two hours. I ended up with a full gallon of cider! :) Also, instead of using regular white sugar, I substituted about half of it with light brown sugar. I didn't have any cheese cloth so I used my coffee filter instead. This worked out great! Awesome recipe and I'll definitely make it again! (Side Note: I used 10 romeo apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States