Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This turned out amazing! I only boiled it for 50 minutes though. And I would suggest using some Granny Smith apples, because it was so sweet. It would be really good with a bit of a tart taste to it. But it tasted great, almost exactly like the apple cider we used to get at the cider mills in Michigan. I will most definitely be making this again, and am telling everyone I know about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Boiling at low heat is key! My first time making apple cider and it was a breeze! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. I halved it, and used a homemade pie spice blend in lieu of the allspice and cinnamon. Didn't have cheesecloth so I made do with what I had. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So easy. Did not read the directions carefully so I peeled and cored the apples. I did not have cheese cloth so I just put the cider through a strainer and although there were some bits it was really good. We all enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Couto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is delicious! I put the apples in a pot with a pasta insert easy, cleaner straining! Instead of adding the ground spices I added a cinnamon stick and a few cardamon seeds. In the last hour add a dry red pepper to the simmering apples for a nice little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great recipe and very simple to do. After simmering I double strained the cider with a mesh strainer and than again with cheesecloth. After that I simmered again for an hour or so. I doubled the amount of apples (had a lot to use) and should have at least a gallon of cider. For everyone who is reporting less than a quart yield, I suggest reducing boiling time to 10-15mins and allow to simmer for the remainder. Also, make sure you're adding enough water. I pressed down on the apples while adding water to make sure I had good coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. This is my first time making homemade apple cider but it was very tasty and my two year old daughter just loved it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
While this was a little bit weaker than I would have liked, it was very good! I ended up with seven cups, and if I were doing it again, I'd try to boil it down a little more to give it a stronger flavor--or maybe just change the apple type. I used 6 golden delicious and 6 Jonathans, since that's what I had bags of, and I got a very sweet cider--and a very sweet, good, though somewhat weirdly textured applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
soooo simple! although it took 3 hours, it was definately worth it! but i only got 2 cups of cider (exactly)!! so next time i think im going to leave it uncovered for maybe half the time and lower the heat. but will definately make again! oh! and i didnt have any allspice so i just added some extra cinnamon, a little nutmeg and a dash of pepper. still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Try simmering everything in a crock pot and strain it when you get home from work - easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States