Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I live in China and was missing apple cider so much. I made this recipe at home and was so excited when it was finished but was shocked at how sweet it was. The apple taste was wonderful but there is waaaay too much sugar in this recipe. As my friend said (another foreigner here) it was like drinking liquidized apple pie. My suggestion is to use only a 1/2 cup or less of sugar and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Winger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used my juicer also with all 10 apples and 1/2 c raw sugar my children had it gone by the time it was cooled. it got pretty thick, next time I will add more water to it. I cooked it after I juiced the apples for about 1 hr. with the spices. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This recipe is delicious! Instead of boiling it for an hour, I waited for the water to boil and treated like soup by reducing the heat and simmering for the other two hours. I ended up with a full gallon of cider! :) Also, instead of using regular white sugar, I substituted about half of it with light brown sugar. I didn't have any cheese cloth so I used my coffee filter instead. This worked out great! Awesome recipe and I'll definitely make it again! (Side Note: I used 10 romeo apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I am trying this recipe with all my left overs like the peels and cores. We will see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Hruska

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Tastes great! As soon as the apples and water came to a boil I reduced the heat to low and covered for at least 3 hours. I also added a few whole cloves to the pot. update: I'm making this again....sort of. I am trying it this time without spices and sugar to make juice for my kids. ( mother-in-law has apple tree and I am trying to use them up )I have never canned before, so I am going to freeze is ice cream containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good. I actually added 4 additional apples (I like a strong flavor) as well as a teaspoon of nutmeg, a pinch of cloves, and a slash of vanilla (didn't measure but it wasn't very much). This drink is great hot or cold! After the first batch I made two more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Altoona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe didn't yield a gallon. While it was easy enough, it didn't even yeild a quart. I used splenda instead of the sugar. . .cuts the calories and makes it 0 points on WW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I didn't add any sugar - my apples were sweet. I cooked the cider for the 3 plus hours according to the recipe and it turned out watery and under a gallon. Now my cider was fairly clear unlike the photo by Sweetcreations taken 12/04/2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for DaJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, but when I came back after two hours of simmering it, ALL of my water had evaporated. Was I supposed to keep adding more? If so, it would be nice if the recipe had said as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonelycheese15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sistersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We really enjoy this drink! It's not my favorite that it takes so long to make, but I think we'll be able to shorten the time if we keep trying different methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States