Homemade Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
yummy. i used suggestions to get it boiling then let it simmer for two hrs. i still didn't get 1 gallon..way less but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Loved it! I did it a little different though 3/4 cup of splenda instead of sugar and I threw it all in a crockpot on high for 8 hours and strained it. All done! It was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe, and super easy, but I only got about 3 cups of cider, so that was a little dissapointing. Otherwise, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
it didn't make NEARLY a gallon of cider. far less, like maybe 4 cups. And it was a little to sweet for my liking. I think i will stick to orchard cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I don't even like cider and I liked this. I didn't have a cheese cloth, so I just strained it twice. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Thank you for having a GENUINE apple cider recipe as apposed to all of the so-called recipes that call for apple cider as an ingredient to "MAKE" apple cider. I am applaud that allrecipes has published soo many fraudulent "recipes" yet I have a very unique family candy recipe they have yet to to even review (after 4 years!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is excellent! i've made it twice now the whole family loves it! its simple and tasty! its great served warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Smelled Heavenly! Tasted really mediocre and bland. After hearing the complaints of small volume, i decided to bring to a boil only breifly and then simmer for an hour, covered. upon tasting, i realised this was not delciious and was mostly just water with a slight hint of apple and cinnamon. so i removed most of the large particles(peels) and allowed the stuff to simmer uncovered for another hour. the flavor improved within that hour! but still not great, so i took a cup or so of unsweetened applesauce that had been taking up space in my fridge, and added that to the mix. stirred it up and took a sip, much better! Then i put everything i had strained out previously back into the pot, brought it back up to a boil, covered it and held it at a very low boil for 30 minutes to soften up some more. I also added some orange peel. I'm still not in love with the recipe, but since thanksgiving is tomorrow and i'm now out of apples, it will have to do. next time i think i'll replace the water with apple juice, and use better quality apples - the bagged ones just aren't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I live in China and was missing apple cider so much. I made this recipe at home and was so excited when it was finished but was shocked at how sweet it was. The apple taste was wonderful but there is waaaay too much sugar in this recipe. As my friend said (another foreigner here) it was like drinking liquidized apple pie. My suggestion is to use only a 1/2 cup or less of sugar and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used my juicer also with all 10 apples and 1/2 c raw sugar my children had it gone by the time it was cooled. it got pretty thick, next time I will add more water to it. I cooked it after I juiced the apples for about 1 hr. with the spices. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States