Homemade Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I've made angel food cakes before and this one turned out great.I used almond flavoring instead of vanilla but otherwise I followed the recipe. For those of you who've never made angel food, take the previous advice about not greasing the pan. Also I did not add the flour all at once. I added it in fourths and folded it in by doing 2 deep folds with a spatula then turning the bowl a quarter turn. When you take it out of the oven you should invert it until it's totally cool. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is an excellent, basic Angel Food cake recipe. I doubled the vanilla, as I tend to not like "floury" tasting dishes. I made two for company after church, and served them with strawberries and vanilla ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful! Turned out perfectly! I have never made an angel food cake before and had no idea what to expect. The 18 egg whites surprised me a little, but it was well worth it! For all those others out there who are new at angel food cakes, do NOT grease the pan. I greased the bottom of mine and that was the only problem I had. Where I greased the pan the cake stuck and where I didn't it did not stick, but that was my fault. Follow the recipe exactly and don't grease the pan, and you will have a perfectly fluffy and moist angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allheart
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was awesome! I used a 500g carton of egg whites, was just 4 Tbsp shy of 18 eggs, I didn't add the extra eggs and it was just fine. I would suggest getting it into the oven asap, mine was left out for about 35 minutes before going in the oven so it fell a little. All in all it was the whitest, softest, not spongy best angel food cake I have ever tasted! A big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allheart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Absolutely perfect! I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. I am so excited as this was my first attempt. The only thing that differed was the time....only thirty five minutes in my oven at 350 degrees. Glad I was watching it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's 1st birthday today. It raised alot more than I expected it to, but was delicious, moist, and very fluffy. I forgot to put the vanilla in...oops...and put a little less confectioners sugar in, but the sugared strawberry topping I made to go along with it made up for it. This is the first angel food cake I have made that turned out this good and didn't fall! Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe, just be sure to take your time and make sure you beat the egg whites to the proper consistency for the best results, light and fluffy cake! I made a slight modification in mine: in addition to the 1 tsp vanilla, I added an extra 1/2 tsp vanilla (used part artificial vanilla/part natural vanilla extract) and I added about 1/2 tsp almond extract as well. The results are great, I shared it with my coworkers recently, and now am making it for the 2nd time just this week, per request! Our oldest employee, at age 79, says it's the best she has ever had :) I serve this with sliced strawberries and homemade whipped cream but it is so good that it's just as delicious by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I have also made this recipe twice and took the advice from a previous reviewer and added a little extra vanilla. The first time I made this I forgot that you must turn an Angel food cake upside down to cool, otherwise the bottom of your cake will become very dense. I turn it upside down into a colander and it worked pretty well to keep the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Sexton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Delran, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This cake was soooo good! This was my first attempt at making a homemade Angel Food Cake. You don't realize how much you can taste the preservatives in a boxed mix until you make one from scratch! One word of advice though..make sure you have a HUGE bowl available for the folding step of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
I've made this cake twice. You must make sure to add the flour mixture slowly while stirring to avoid lumps. I added more vanilla and a few drops of almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States