Homemade Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great recipe. My first time making a angel food cake from scratch, baking is my specialty and this recipe was awesome. I switched it up a bit to suit my family, using 1 cup slenda and 1/2 cup sugar instead of using all sugar. It turned out wonderful,and is so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Fabulous! The first time I made it, it seemed a bit labor intensive. But I whittled down the time by a couple easy steps. I'm a magpie, so I get distracted and forget how much sugar I've put in when I have to "gradually add" something. So with this, I measured out the granulated sugar in a bowl. I didn't have cake flour, so I measured two tablespoons of corn starch in the bottom of a 1 cup measuring cup. I filled the rest with all purpose flour. When sifting the flour and powdered sugar together, I put down two pieces of wax paper. I sifted the flour/sugar on the top sheet and then used it as a funnel for the 2nd sifting. Before the second sifting, I lifted up the sifter, flour and waxed paper all together and put the top sheet on the bottom. It's like leap frog. I had the eggs, salt and cream of tartar in my Kitchen Aid and the eggs were at stiff peak stage. After I sifted once, I'd put in some sugar. After I sifted the second time, more sugar, etc. I put the final sifting in the bowl that held the sugar, and no extra dirty dishes!!! I now have this down to a science, and it's nearly as easy as a box mix, but infinitely better tasting. Oh, one more tip, measure the bottle you will invert the cake on BEFORE you put the batter in the bowl. :-) I use Lea & Perrin's Worcestershire sauce bottle, because it's the perfect size and already lives above my stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe worked better for me than the Kitchenaid recipe... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My first attempt at angelfood and it turned out great. It was very moist, yet light and fluffy. It was a huge hit. I will make again when I need to use up egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shorthoneys
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
The texture was very good but it was lacking a little in flavor. I will try adding more vanilla next time i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is great! It also makes 2 cakes for me, I dont know why. I have very old fashioned bunt pans so maybe they arent as deep as the more modern ones. The cake freezes well and thaws in a snap for quick hosting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The only thing I would add, is to mix the dry ingredients in slowly with a spatula. "Fold" in everything slowly to keep the mixture foamy. Also, cool your cake upside down or it'll deflate. I put three cups out beforehand, spacing them apart with the empty cake tray, then I can immediately take the cake out of the oven and set it upside down on the cups. You can also cool the cake upside down using a wine bottle with a neck that's smaller than the hole in your cake tin. Just slip it over the top of the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was awful. It didn`t rise at all. By the time we went to eat it, it was squishy and spongy. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Absolutely the best ever. People always ask for piece to take home, if there is any left over! Use the egg yolks to make creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Amazing! Made it for a party last night and everyone loved it. Very moist and light. I added a teaspoon of almond extract and another 2 of amaretto. Served it with low fat ice cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States